Help needed in simplifying user interface

Reaction score
Hello Everyone,
I am new to this (or any other) forum so I hope this is an appropriate place to ask this question.

I need help highly simplifying the user experience on a new windows 10 laptop for my 86 year old mother who now has great difficulty learning and remembering new skills. The family has tried multiple time to teach her how to do just the simple things she needs to do but all the extra visual (and for her, superfluous) information completely overwhelms her. The laptop has already been bought so the solution has to be in the software, not hardware.

The only things she needs to do is:

· Email including saving attachments to documents and photo folders

· Write and format simple word documents and be able to attach these to email

She does not currently use the internet apart from for email

In my mind, what would work for her is if the screen on switching on, was to just have 6 big tiles already there (ie. without having to go to the start menu first)

· Mail

· Documents

· Word

· Photos

· News (though she does not understand the concept of the internet and will adamantly insist she does not have the internet, only email)

· Power (shutdown)

Features:

When she creates a new word doc, or opens a document from email, the only option for saving is into Documents folder, except photo’s would be automatically saved into Photos ie. no list of alternative locations appears

When she wants to attach a document into an email, after pressing insert, the only options that come up are Documents and Photos folders, not the list of options that would normally come up (it would be even better if these visually looked the same as the tiles on start screen)

No other file view to ever come up other than the 6 folder tiles.