How to give PERMANENT permission to delete ?

Joined
Apr 6, 2015
Messages
321
Reaction score
10
Every week I back up the contents of QuickLaunch; so every week, I replace last week's backup - by deleting the contents, and then replacing them with a fresh copy of the QuickLaunch contents. At every deletion I am queried 'do I really want to do this ?' and desktop.ini is mentioned. Is there a way I can give permission once and for all ? I have already ticked 'Hide protected operating system files' and that seemed to fix the problem, but it did not.
 

Regedit32

Moderator
Joined
Mar 4, 2016
Messages
3,620
Reaction score
1,139
I haven't a need for a permanent solution but you might read this tutorial on another forum:

With all my looking around the Windows OS, I don't recall noticing that check box for confirmation before. You learn something new every day :) — nice one @Bighorn
 
Joined
Sep 26, 2017
Messages
3,439
Reaction score
614
That is a sledgehammer way to crack a nut - but I expect it will do the job.
Yeah, but there is another way to do deletions I never tell my clients about to help keep them out of trouble and that is to hold down the Shift key while clicking on Delete or pressing the Del key, bypasses the Recycle Bin but still get the prompt about permanently deleting the file.
 

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments. After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.

Ask a Question

Top