How to pin programs to start and tiles?

Reaction score
Hi all, I'm fairly new to Windows 10 and everything is going well except for pinning programs to the start menu. Here are three programs giving me issues with this:

FastStone Image Viewer
Hyper-V Manager
Microsoft Movie Maker

I am able to run the programs if I go find them in Program Files, and I've created shortcuts to them on my desktop and in the task bar. However, they do not show up in the list of All Apps, and they don't turn up in a search from the search bar. I've added them to ...\AppData\Roaming\Microsoft\Windows\Start Menu\Programs and rebooted, and it did not add them to the Apps. What should I do? Thank you!

Trouble

Noob Whisperer
Reaction score
You should be able to find Hyper-V Manager in the all apps menu, down at the bottom it is under "W" -> Windows Administrative Tools..... right click and "pin to start"
For movie maker have a look down in the "W" area as well. If you are talking about the product that is part of Live Essentials http://windows.microsoft.com/en-us/windows/essentials
I think it is down there also but listed as Windows Movie Maker
FastStone Image Viewer I can't help with but check
C:\Program Files
OR
C:\Program Files (x86)
If you find the .exe you should be able to right click and pin it as well.

Reaction score
Hi Trouble, and thanks for your quick reply. I don't have either of those Windows programs in any of the folders that start with "Windows." I've right-clicked on all of them and chosen "pin to start" but it doesn't do anything. How does Windows 10 determine what goes in the All Apps list? The collection I have in ...\AppData\Roaming\Microsoft\Windows\Start Menu\Programs isn't nearly as large as what I see in All Apps, and it can't be scanning Program Files because it's missing too many (the three I've listed are just examples). I'm not experiencing any other issues.

Reaction score
What happens if you type the name of the program in the search bar?