How to send/receive fax transmissions


Joined
Jul 22, 2015
Messages
173
Reaction score
15
I have a new H.P. Pavilion computer.
I would like to set up the capability to send and receive fax messages.
This computer has a standard telephone connector.
I have activated the Fax and Scan program.
I do not want to set up a fax service, because I don't use it enough.
So what do I do ... what do I need... how do I do it... how do I get it?
I have looked at the results of a Google search but I don't understand what they are saying.
Thank you :)
 
Ad

Advertisements

bassfisher6522

Moderator
Joined
Sep 22, 2014
Messages
1,729
Reaction score
322
Your thread title conflicts with part of your thread statement.....in particular this line.
I do not want to set up a fax service, because I don't use it enough.
So do you want to use this service or not?
 
Joined
Sep 26, 2017
Messages
2,248
Reaction score
431
A "standard telephone connector" indicates a Dial-up Modem. In the USA using that means having the traditional telephone line/landline to communicate with a standard FAX machine. Our local cable TV service provides that type of service when subscribed to bundled Internet and Telephone/Voice features. The proliferation of cell/smart phones has lessened the need for the landline, haven't checked if the mobile phone providers have the capability to handle a FAX so it all boils down to what services you have available and if affordable. Using E-Mail with attachments has been growing.
 
Joined
May 6, 2015
Messages
2,572
Reaction score
421
Several free fax services out there. I send/receive only one or two faxes a year so I just plug my fax capable printer into a phone line when I need to.
 

bassfisher6522

Moderator
Joined
Sep 22, 2014
Messages
1,729
Reaction score
322
Several free fax services out there. I send/receive only one or two faxes a year so I just plug my fax capable printer into a phone line when I need to.
Yep....that's me as well. Back in the day that's how it was done and the reason why I got my HP AIO printer which is still kicking at 17 yrs later and hooked up to my PC with the FAX connected and working.....just incase. Back then I would fax 10 to 30 times a year so it was worth getting it.
 
Joined
Sep 26, 2017
Messages
2,248
Reaction score
431
You've given us nothing to work with. Need information about the computer, where you are located, what All-in-One printer you have that has Fax capability, do you have a traditional phone/land line, etc. An issue exists in that Fax machines need the landline for the communicating and a computer needs the Dial-Up Modem in it to have the landline connected to it. Some Cable/Broadband ISPs that offer bundled Voice can provide Fax service.
 
Ad

Advertisements

Joined
Nov 19, 2013
Messages
5,456
Reaction score
1,111
Fascinating, and curious, thread for (only) me.
I haven't used a fax machine since somewhere around the Dos days. Cant really remember, but probably until internet/Email became more used.
In my last working environment, and subsequently in my retired life, my customary way of sending documents, assuming I do not have access to an electronic original, is to copy and Email.
I have no knowledge of current practise, but I do suppose there are offices which still find it convenient?
 
Joined
Sep 5, 2019
Messages
62
Reaction score
26
FAX machines are still commonplace in practically any office environment, at least in the US. It's still the preferred method for exchanging documents in the medical and legal fields. I imagine it's something to do with the ease of use versus scanning/sending as an attachment via email (I still encounter people who have difficulty doing this).

You can still use your PC as a FAX machine, Windows comes with this capability. You will need additional hardware - a flatbed scanner and a v.92 modem. You will also need a voice line. Most of the ones provided by your cable company aren't really suited for FAX unless they specifically offer it as such. Even if they don't you can still use it for FAXing but you may have to re-send a few times and also drop the baud rate (standard FAX is 9600 baud, I've had to drop it to 2400 in some instances).
 
Joined
Nov 19, 2013
Messages
5,456
Reaction score
1,111
"a flatbed scanner "
Come with most semi advanced printers these days? No extra hardware required. "I still encounter people who have difficulty doing this) " Lol Agreed.
But I don't have any argument - it was just curiosity. My Ex employers actually insisted that I changed to the email method!
 
Ad

Advertisements

Joined
Sep 5, 2019
Messages
62
Reaction score
26
I think FAX will eventually die, millenials and younger generations are way more tech savvy then us Gen Xers and older. They were raised with tech unlike us.
 
Joined
Sep 12, 2017
Messages
50
Reaction score
1
Fax is built in to my Epson printer. I do still have an AT&T land line that is hooked up to the printer. I Send faxes with no problem.
 
Joined
Sep 26, 2017
Messages
2,248
Reaction score
431
I'm trying to set up new fax service in my office. I have been searching for a free fax service. Thank you!
That does give a different spin on the issue and I can only relay what can be done in the USA, other countries have different services available.
 
Joined
Jul 4, 2020
Messages
5
Reaction score
0
I"m a newbie here. I would like to know more about using a fax service. Which fax service is better and reliable?
 
Joined
Sep 26, 2017
Messages
2,248
Reaction score
431
I"m a newbie here. I would like to know more about using a fax service. Which fax service is better and reliable?
You'll really really need to say where you are, most forums have viewers in pretty much every country in the world and appropriate answers will depend upon where one lives.
 
Ad

Advertisements

Joined
Jan 27, 2016
Messages
792
Reaction score
78
My Printer uses Wireless, and has the ability to send/rec fax. the manufacture gives very detailed how to use with wireless internet.
so suggest that if your Printer.Scanner, MFC has the ability to send/receive PC-FAX. if you set properly then you Phone will auto send to PC-Fax for print - just don't answer the damn phone. and it will scan then send via phone also. ring settings are needed also
 
Joined
Apr 22, 2017
Messages
4,323
Reaction score
564
In the 80's I worked a Telex machine from our office, I was only 1 of 2 people people that knew how it worked, we used a Fax machine too but not very often due to the cost at that time. :cool:

 

bassfisher6522

Moderator
Joined
Sep 22, 2014
Messages
1,729
Reaction score
322
Everyone does realize that this tread is over 2yrs old and the OP has yet to reply. Just saying.

Still some excellent advice being given.
 
Ad

Advertisements

Joined
May 22, 2020
Messages
108
Reaction score
16
This Google snippet may help you:

Manually Receive a Fax in Windows Fax and Scan
  1. Activate Windows Fax and Scan by clicking on the “start” button, searching for “Fax” in the search box, and then select “Windows Fax and Scan”
  2. Click the Fax option at the bottom left pane.
  3. From the toolbar, select “Receive a Fax Now”.
 

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments. After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.

Ask a Question

Top