SOLVED HP Pavilion Power Switch

Joined
Nov 21, 2018
Messages
89
Reaction score
7
Well, I love my new Hp Pavilion Desktop TPO1-0xxx, Product # 6XQ50AA#ABA... Ser. # 2M00383BCG. EXCEPT the power switch is already acting funky. (Failing occasionally) I contacted HP and was advised to send it to HP service center for free repair. I received shipping label and box to ship for repair, all free. Trouble is, The repair center seems to be not very favorable. All this is to say, I want to order the switch and install it myself. What I would very much is suggestions as where to purchase the switch. Any advice will be greatly be appreciated...Thanks...Jim
 
Joined
Apr 22, 2017
Messages
5,477
Reaction score
684
Hi Jim,

I can really only suggest eBay or Amazon or something similar!. ;)
 

bassfisher6522

Moderator
Joined
Sep 22, 2014
Messages
2,066
Reaction score
395
Since this is an OEM, I would buy it directly from HP or a supplier that can get OEM parts.
 
Joined
Nov 21, 2018
Messages
89
Reaction score
7
Since this is an OEM, I would buy it directly from HP or a supplier that can get OEM parts.
Thanks for your reply...I have been trying for two hours to buy from HP with no luck. Can`t contact them except by web and guess work.. Thanks...Jim
 

bassfisher6522

Moderator
Joined
Sep 22, 2014
Messages
2,066
Reaction score
395
I have a suggestion if you can't find a power switch. An after market case. Then just move everything from the HP to the new case. The only thing you would need to make sure of is the mobo pin layout. As OEM sometimes have a different pin layout. It made a difference decades ago but I'm not sure that still holds today.
 
Joined
Nov 21, 2018
Messages
89
Reaction score
7
I have a suggestion if you can't find a power switch. An after market case. Then just move everything from the HP to the new case. The only thing you would need to make sure of is the mobo pin layout. As OEM sometimes have a different pin layout. It made a difference decades ago but I'm not sure that still holds today.
Thank you......
 
Joined
Apr 22, 2017
Messages
5,477
Reaction score
684
Joined
Nov 21, 2018
Messages
89
Reaction score
7
Afaik, HP have their own specs for their boards (proprietary) and they won't fit in an after market PC case?.

Jim, check the form factor of the mobo and see if it is indeed a normal ATX/Mini ATX or ITX format that will fit in a normal case!.

Is this your model ? (look at page 8 for the mobo layout). :)

Upgrading and Servicing Guide (EMEA with shipping label) (hp.com)
Yes, I think this is my model....I am on the trail to a modification switch. It seems to be only a momentary switch. Thanks so much for your help....Jim
 
Joined
Sep 26, 2017
Messages
3,566
Reaction score
621
Yes, I think this is my model....I am on the trail to a modification switch. It seems to be only a momentary switch. Thanks so much for your help....Jim
Right, the ATX style motherboards use a momentary switch connected to the motherboard, the older AT boards had the switch wired directly to the power supply.
 

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments. After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.

Ask a Question

Top