SOLVED If I do setup for 17134.1 on my 1709 will it update like normal


Joined
Apr 19, 2018
Messages
34
Reaction score
0
There seem to be a lot of folks having problems with the latest Public CUs for 1709. I do not know why but I am seeing it all over.

Trouble says he has a new CU for 1803 but I haven't seen it. Maybe he was "Targeted" by Microsoft for some reason.

There is a thread on the Microsoft community were they say the 1803 (17134.1) .ESD file is available.
Since the 19th I have been running 17134.1/1803 and not 1709. I have not seen any CUs (Cumulative Updates) at all, only WD(Windows Defender) stuff - about 22 of them.

@Bighorn - so are you suggesting that the Apr 30th version of 1803 is the same as the 17134.1 I am already running?
 
Ad

Advertisements

Joined
Sep 26, 2017
Messages
1,582
Reaction score
262
It needs to be understood that 1803 is a Version number and 17134.1 is Build update to that version. Version 1803 is the IP/Insider Preview, also known as test or BETA.

The numbering is a lot like the older versions of Windows and their Service Pack updates. Builds are updates to Versions, modifications for various reasons. The 4 numbers are release dates, stand for Year and Month.

1709 is the latest RTM/Release version and Build 16299.402 is the latest update to that version.

Press the Windows Key and R, type winver, will show what you are running.
 
Joined
Sep 26, 2017
Messages
1,582
Reaction score
262
"Version 1803 (OS Build 17134.1)"
That was the latest IP/Insider Preview, latest Build is now 17134.5. It does not apply to Version 1709. And the Skip Ahead build is something like 17655.
 
Joined
Apr 19, 2018
Messages
34
Reaction score
0
the Apr 30 released 1803 is labeled 17134.1

HeiDoc.net Windows ISO Downloader 5.29

Works fine. 1 WD update but no others.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Apr 19, 2018
Messages
34
Reaction score
0
by the by I installed it by downloading the iso, rufus it to usb flash, and click on setup.

4 WD updates so far.

I have noticed NO slowdown.
 
Last edited:
Joined
May 6, 2015
Messages
2,416
Reaction score
375
I used Windows update to get 1709->1803 just two WD updates so far.
 
Joined
Apr 19, 2018
Messages
34
Reaction score
0
So it's patch Tuesday. I took 1803-05 Cumulative and am now 17134.48 No problems.

It's been mentioned elsewhere but if you click "check for updates" you are really saying "update everything that's available". If you're skittish, backup first.
 
Joined
Apr 19, 2018
Messages
34
Reaction score
0
took 1803-05 cumulative.

now 17134.81

Takes 3 min to settle down but it does settle down, which is different from before.

However the 10 or so thread stacks for <tested with chrome> still take 60 secs to terminate.
 
Joined
Sep 26, 2017
Messages
1,582
Reaction score
262
It appears you have moved off the IP/Insider Preview with the install of RTM Version 1803 Build 17134.81, I'd suggest moving over to some of the other categories more related to the RTM version. Latest IP on mine is Version 1803 Build 17677.1000 which has an expiration date of 12/14/2018.
 
Ad

Advertisements

Joined
Apr 19, 2018
Messages
34
Reaction score
0
It appears you have moved off the IP/Insider Preview with the install of RTM Version 1803 Build 17134.81, I'd suggest moving over to some of the other categories more related to the RTM version. Latest IP on mine is Version 1803 Build 17677.1000 which has an expiration date of 12/14/2018.
Though I looked at the insider program, I never actually used anything from it. The first 1803 I actually used was from the Apr 30 release. Somebody put me in insider forum. To me, this whole thread should be put back in general or wherever it was originally.

EDIT: correction, I did use the 17134.1 from the insider group UNTIL the Apr 30 release of 1803. I put that 1803 iso on a flash drive and clicked on the setup on it and it changed me to the non-insider version of 17134.1 I suppose I should do a clean install of 1803, but since MS is coming out with a major new version every 6 months, I'll pass. I have a life. :)
 
Last edited:

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments. After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.

Ask a Question

Top