Japanese IME is broken in Windows 1903?


Joined
Jan 7, 2016
Messages
2
Reaction score
0
Have you guys had any problems with Japanese IME and Windows 10 version 1903?
We download the Japanese IME but when changing from Romanji to Hiragana letter we just always get this error message:
- "Japanese IME is not ready yet"

So it looks like Japanese IME is installed but it doesn’t type Japanese character.

We also tried setting Japanese as the display language but it doesn’t seem to do anything.
This same issue occurs on 1903 (Build 18362.295) and 1903 (Build 18990.1) and I guess the entire of 1903 and possible 1803 and it seems to happen in administrator and non administrator account but not 100% on this point.

It seems that all other European language is okay but not Japanese IME.
>The only way we have found to fix it is to use a very old version of Windows 10 like 1703 and copy the C:\Windows\IME folder to the PC running 1803 or 1903 and restarted the PC then it fixes it.
>Or we install the Google Japanese IME and it works fine - https://www.google.co.jp/intl/ja/ime/
I just wondered if anyone knew of any other solution like a specific Windows update or something?
 
Ad

Advertisements

Regedit32

Moderator
Joined
Mar 4, 2016
Messages
3,214
Reaction score
1,000
To my knowledge there has been no specific update released to address the issue you are experiencing.

The court is out on what is causing this issue in the first place:
  • Some hypothesize a particular KB update broke the Dictionary files.
  • Others believe there is simply a bug in the IME itself

The solution you used has been applicable for a few years now, and for many has helped. It's because of your solution so many believe the dictionary files are the problem - hence the first hypothesis.

The problem is, others are reporting using a pre 18## build dictionary did not resolve their issue. In their case they resolved it by going into Advance settings for Language packs, and removing all installed language packs [ except for English ], then downloading and installing the language packs again.

Either way, its a bit ugly, but all you can do for now.

I'd argue just be grateful your solution for now is working for you - because some folk who can't get either of the above to work for them are using Google online instead -- and that must be extremely annoying!
 

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments. After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.

Ask a Question

Top