Lost my Windows security codes (or I didnt have them?)

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Tom Cunningham, Jun 24, 2018.

  1. Tom Cunningham

    Tom Cunningham

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2018
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    My laptop which I purchased from new had Windows 10 installed and I pay for all the Windows 10 package.

    However, my laptop developed a fault and the computer repair company (JEM Cumputers, Cupar, Fife, Scotland) repaired the fault but they could not reinstall/restore Windows 10 as they didn't have the security codes. As I pay in advance for the package and I have tried contact Microsoft but its a minefield and I got nowhere.

    Question is how can I find my security codes to re-install the Windows 10 package.

    Cheers
    Tom
     
    Tom Cunningham, Jun 24, 2018
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. Tom Cunningham

    Clintlgm

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2017
    Messages:
    325
    Likes Received:
    51
    Location:
    New Orleans North Shore Louisiana
    Windows 10 doesn't use codes when your laptop was activated originally it was registered with MS Activation servers and will automatically activate again as long as you use the same version that was originally on it. IE Home or Pro languages I would suggest your repair guy download the MCT
    Also if you used your MS account to purchase the Windows 10 package if you install and log on your MS Account that will also active your reinstall of windows.
     
    Clintlgm, Jun 25, 2018
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. Tom Cunningham

    Jake B

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2015
    Messages:
    326
    Likes Received:
    47
    If you system is an OEM (Dell, HP or any others maker of Windows 10 machines) the key is in BIOS. I would contact the maker of the PC as it sounds like they replaced the hard drive. They can send you a system restore file.
     
    Jake B, Jun 25, 2018
    #3
  4. Tom Cunningham

    Norton

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2016
    Messages:
    2,724
    Likes Received:
    579
    I don't believe the Windows OS has been installed?
    [They repaired the fault but they could not reinstall/restore Windows 10 as they didn't have the security codes]
    Tom If you contact Dell Support and explain your problem they will send you the OEM Windows 10 install version, driver and app disks. They did that for me when my HD failed and my Laptop was out of warranty.
     
    Norton, Jun 25, 2018
    #4
    Clintlgm likes this.
  5. Tom Cunningham

    Trouble Noob Whisperer Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2013
    Messages:
    11,218
    Likes Received:
    1,752
    Location:
    Northwest Indiana U.S.A.
    IF that is true, then.....
    You don't need any product key or code to install Windows 10.

    You'll need to boot from the installation media. If you do not have the installation media on hand you can download the ISO from here
    https://www.microsoft.com/en-us/software-download/windows10
    Once you have the ISO, you can use ImgBurn to burn it to a DVD, http://imgburn.com/
    or Rufus to burn it to a USB ThumbDrive, http://rufus.akeo.ie/
    either of which you can use to boot your computer.

    During the installation you may be prompted to enter a product key, just choose "skip it" or "later" or "not now"

    NOTE: It is important that you download and install the same "version" of Windows 10 that was previously installed on your computer in order for the automatic activation to work ( Pro or Home )
     
    Trouble, Jun 25, 2018
    #5
  6. Tom Cunningham

    Norton

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2016
    Messages:
    2,724
    Likes Received:
    579
    Exactly what I would do. Clean install no bloatware, up and running in no time. I would still contact Dell to obtain the OEM installation media.
     
    Norton, Jun 26, 2018
    #6
    Trouble likes this.
  7. Tom Cunningham

    Bighorn

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2017
    Messages:
    838
    Likes Received:
    123
    Here is a picture I shot during a clean install yesterday, maybe the list of questions will jog your memory, but this is for a USA install of Version 1803 Build 17134.1 then updated to Build 17134.12, the question may be different in other locales. The answer to the first question will remove that question from the second one and it will remove the question for the third.
    Security Questions.JPG
     
    Bighorn, Jun 26, 2018
    #7
  8. Tom Cunningham

    Norton

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2016
    Messages:
    2,724
    Likes Received:
    579
    I know this doesn't help with the OP, however there's a small free downloadable app that will retrieve lost Product IDs and CD-Keys for Microsoft Office, Windows and more.

    http://www.majorgeeks.com/mg/get/produkey,3.html
    Custom scanned with Mawarebytes Pro
     
    Norton, Jun 26, 2018
    #8
  9. Tom Cunningham

    Bighorn

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2017
    Messages:
    838
    Likes Received:
    123
    Missed a character in my post, the Version is 1803 Build 17134.112. [New build update today]
     
    Bighorn, Jun 26, 2018
    #9
  10. Tom Cunningham

    Grizzly

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2016
    Messages:
    1,218
    Likes Received:
    304
    Location:
    North Carolina
    I have never seen that on a clean install since the beginning of Windows 10. Is that eventually bound to a certain brand name??
    Or are these questions in connection with a Microsoft account??
     
    Grizzly, Jun 27, 2018
    #10
    Clintlgm likes this.
  11. Tom Cunningham

    Bighorn

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2017
    Messages:
    838
    Likes Received:
    123
    That was on a Dell but I've seen it on other brands.
     
    Bighorn, Jun 27, 2018
    #11
  12. Tom Cunningham

    Clintlgm

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2017
    Messages:
    325
    Likes Received:
    51
    Location:
    New Orleans North Shore Louisiana
    I have never seen this on a clean install of windows 10 either.
     
    Clintlgm, Jun 27, 2018
    #12
  13. Tom Cunningham

    Bighorn

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2017
    Messages:
    838
    Likes Received:
    123
    I see I missed mentioning the clean install was not on a new/blank drive but that had a failed/unbootable Windows on it and the clean install was necessary to replace that OS.
     
    Bighorn, Jun 27, 2018
    #13
  14. Tom Cunningham

    Trouble Noob Whisperer Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2013
    Messages:
    11,218
    Likes Received:
    1,752
    Location:
    Northwest Indiana U.S.A.
    It is present in a clean install of the latest Version / Build from the ISO, when.....
    Choosing to use an "Offline" account with a "password"

    SecurityQuestion1of3.PNG

    Choose.png

    AND it is unavoidable (This field is required.), you must respond to all three "security questions" by completing the answer text box before you can proceed with the install.

    You can avoid it when choosing an "Offline" account, if you leave the password text box blank.
    You can then proceed and complete the install and add a password to the account afterwards.
     
    Trouble, Jun 27, 2018
    #14
    ram1220 likes this.
  15. Tom Cunningham

    Bighorn

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2017
    Messages:
    838
    Likes Received:
    123
    Exactly. The main issue is if Windows is not working one HAS to use the Offline install. To that end I keep both the Bootable USB drive and the .ISO for creating a bootable DVD on hand in addition to the updates as they become available to get things working. In the case of this Dell the whole process was slow as I had to call her back to get the answers, contrary to what some think I thank the powers-that-be for cellular phone service, can save a lot of time.
     
    Bighorn, Jun 27, 2018
    #15
  16. Tom Cunningham

    Trouble Noob Whisperer Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2013
    Messages:
    11,218
    Likes Received:
    1,752
    Location:
    Northwest Indiana U.S.A.
    What I don't understand, is.....
    The value of any such thing.

    The premise is "Just in case you forget your password" or so it says below the heading.

    Where are the questions and answers stored?
    Are they stored locally?
    Does Microsoft keep them along with my password?
    IS it somehow linked to re-activating Windows 10 on the same machine?
    AND
    IF so..... under what circumstances will I be prompted for those answers.
    Especially if I am doing a clean install on a new hard disk from the installation media created from the ISO??
     
    Trouble, Jun 27, 2018
    #16
    ram1220 likes this.
  17. Tom Cunningham

    Clintlgm

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2017
    Messages:
    325
    Likes Received:
    51
    Location:
    New Orleans North Shore Louisiana
    i guess I missed out on all this since I have always installed with a local account and used my MS Account as secondary. I can't remember the last time i used a DVD or CD to install widows I guess it would have been 7 since I have no 8, 8.1 or 10 optical disk
     
    Clintlgm, Jun 27, 2018
    #17
  18. Tom Cunningham

    Norton

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2016
    Messages:
    2,724
    Likes Received:
    579
    The account security questionnaire has been there for my last 3 clean installs of 1803.
     
    Norton, Jun 28, 2018
    #18
  19. Tom Cunningham

    Clintlgm

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2017
    Messages:
    325
    Likes Received:
    51
    Location:
    New Orleans North Shore Louisiana
    It wasn't there in 1709 for me that's the last 2 clean installs I've done, I always start with a clean disk/ssd so if it came up I would have an issue since I've never set them up. I suppose that the next time I log on with my MS Account it will have me fill all that out
     
    Clintlgm, Jun 28, 2018
    #19
  20. Tom Cunningham

    Grizzly

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2016
    Messages:
    1,218
    Likes Received:
    304
    Location:
    North Carolina
    I have not done a clean install with the 1803 yet. gotta try that...
     
    Grizzly, Jun 28, 2018
    #20
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.