SOLVED ntoskrnl.exe High CPU Usage


Joined
Jun 9, 2017
Messages
430
Reaction score
73
As the title says this file ntoskrnl.exe is using 20% of my CPU constantly, I had thought maybe my system was running some system stuff but this has been going on for several days now.
I have updated my BIOS to the latest
I have run Dism /Online /Cleanup-Image /RestoreHealth several times.
I have update Nvidia driver
Chkdisk
Window 10 upgraded to Pro
1703 Build 15063.296
Asus G752VY
 
Ad

Advertisements

Trouble

Noob Whisperer
Moderator
Joined
Nov 19, 2013
Messages
12,553
Reaction score
2,027
Hello and welcome to the forum.
IDK as I haven't heard of that particular issue before, but.....
The first thing I would do is manually perform a Windows Update and bump that build from .296 to .497
IF that didn't seem to provide any relief, then I would start with a Clean Boot
https://support.microsoft.com/en-in/help/929135/how-to-perform-a-clean-boot-in-windows

Easily done, easily undone.
Basically you're just disabling all the Startup Items and All non-Microsoft services.
Be sure to check the box to hide Microsoft Services, as you don't want to accidentally disable any of those
 
Joined
Jun 9, 2017
Messages
430
Reaction score
73
I resolved the issues I was having after installing KB4022405 apparently (KB4016871) adversely effected my notebook. that 20% turned out to be my Core 0 running at 80% full time. In the end the KB 4022405 solved what ever the actual issue was. I install it on the 3rd and haven't had a BSOD or sudden shutdown since then and my CPU is working normally again.
Thanks for the replies
 
Joined
Oct 26, 2016
Messages
1,645
Reaction score
445
Just FYI: the lates build is 1703 15063.447 . You are three updates behind. You can get up-to-date with KB4022716 now or you wait until Tuesday ( 07-11-2017 ) when the newest Cumulative Update will be released....
 
Ad

Advertisements

Joined
Jun 9, 2017
Messages
430
Reaction score
73
Hmm I'm at .447 I installed KB4022716 6/28 and then KB4022405 on 7/3 one of these two fixed me, I'm pretty sure the issues I was having were due to the update from 6/15 I usually keep up better than this was offshore for awhile and ran a couple different update and an old one got confused I guess.
 

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments. After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.

Ask a Question

Top