Outlook 2007 running in Windows 10 has corrupt PST file

Reaction score
I cannot find out how to fix a corrupt PST file. I tried to use the "FixIt" program from microsoft, but I get a message saying it won't run on Windows 10. I cannot find the SCANPST.EXE file and there is no Accessories/System/Inbox Repair tool in Win 10. Anybody have a fix for the corrupt PST file in Win 10?

Reaction score
I can only show you ...........Where is scanpst.exe in Office 2007
For 32-bit Windows;
C:\Program Files\Microsoft Office\Office12\

For 64-bit Windows;
C:\Program Files (x86)\Microsoft Office\Office12\

I don't use MS Outlook and I have no experience in using scanpst.
So, my contribution of this thread stops here.

Good luck.

Last edited:
Reaction score
Thanks davidhk129. I did find the program using your suggestion. I ran it and scanned the outlook.pst file, but this did not fix the file.

Reaction score
I cannot find out how to fix a corrupt PST file. I tried to use the "FixIt" program from microsoft, but I get a message saying it won't run on Windows 10. I cannot find the SCANPST.EXE file and there is no Accessories/System/Inbox Repair tool in Win 10. Anybody have a fix for the corrupt PST file in Win 10?

The location of scanpst.exe is not at all based on the operating system, it is actually based on Microsoft Outlook version. What is your current Outlook version? I can show you the locations of scanpst.exe according to Outlook's version:
  • In MS Outlook 97/98: C:\Program Files\Common Files\Windows Messaging\scanpst.exe
  • In MS Outlook 2000: C:\Program Files\Common Files\System\MAPI<locale ID>NT\scanpst.exe
  • In MS Outlook 2002/XP: C:\Program Files\Common Files\System\MAPI<locale ID>scanpst.exe
  • In MS Outlook 2003: C:\Program Files\Common Files\System\MSMAPI<locale ID>
  • In MS Outlook 2007: C:\Program Files\Microsoft Office\Office12
  • In MS Outlook 2010: C:\Program Files\Microsoft Office\Office14