SOLVED PaperPort 14.5 pro


Joined
Jul 2, 2018
Messages
14
Reaction score
1
Paperport used to work. Several weeks ago it stopped.
Message cannot find a default email client.
I use gmail, yahoo, msn and my mail client is outlook 2016
I know paperport is x86 and outlook 16 is x64
Tried settings for outlook as default but nothing seems to work.
Looks like I need a fix in the regedit
 
Ad

Advertisements

Joined
Sep 26, 2017
Messages
1,581
Reaction score
261
Might see if this helps, from
https://www.experts-exchange.com/articles/17490/PaperPort-14-Free-Upgrade-to-Version-14-5.html
This is an important patch, as PP14.5/Patch1 is currently the only version of PaperPort that is "Windows 10-compliant" (Nuance's term). So if you are having any problems with PP14.5 in W10, Patch 1 should be your first step (but I also recommend Patch 1 even if you are not running W10). Other Tips for fixing issues with PaperPort in W10 are discussed in another EE article:
PaperPort 14 in Windows 10 - A First Look
Don't know anything about the site, found by a Search.
 
Joined
Jul 2, 2018
Messages
14
Reaction score
1
It just stopped working just recently.
I had applied the patch when windows10 came out.
But the problem/message is that it cannot find a default email client.
 
Joined
Sep 26, 2017
Messages
1,581
Reaction score
261
Open either Internet Explorer, Tools, Options or Control Panel, Internet Options and check the Programs tab, maybe a setting there will help.
 
Joined
Jul 2, 2018
Messages
14
Reaction score
1
Didn't find any settings that may help in any browser or control panel.
Also outlook and control panel are already set as outlook default mail client.
I suspect a modification in the regedit pointing to the default mail client may be necessary so that pp14.5 pro will find it upon startup.
 

Trouble

Noob Whisperer
Moderator
Joined
Nov 19, 2013
Messages
12,327
Reaction score
1,981
Did you happen to try this
For PaperPort:

  1. Open Windows Explorer.
  2. Browse to the following location:
    • PaperPort 10 or 11:
      • 32-bit: "C:\Program Files\ScanSoft\PaperPort".
      • 64-bit: "C:\Program Files (x86)\ScanSoft\PaperPort".
    • PaperPort 12 or 14:
      • 32-bit: "C:\Program Files\Nuance\PaperPort".
      • 64-bit: "C:\Program Files (x86)\Nuance\PaperPort".
  3. Locate the two files named "ccMail.g32" and "exmapi.g32".
  4. Right-click on the file(s) and select "Rename".
  5. Rename the "ccMail.g32" file to "ccMail.old", and then rename the "exmapi.g32" file to "exmapi.old".
  6. Launch PaperPort.
SOURCE: http://nuance.custhelp.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/5895/~/there-is-no-email-program-associated...-error-when-launching-omnipage-or
 
Joined
Jul 2, 2018
Messages
14
Reaction score
1
Thanks for the info and pp link.
Could not find ccMail.g32
Did find exmap.g32 and rename same - pp did even start.
Before the rename, it started and give me a message that no mail client found
 

Trouble

Noob Whisperer
Moderator
Joined
Nov 19, 2013
Messages
12,327
Reaction score
1,981
Sorry, I thought I might have stumbled onto something that may have helped.

The fact that you were unable to find one of the two files might be an indication that the install is corrupt.
As I don't use this particular piece of software I can't say with any certainty, but.....
I'm wondering if an uninstall and clean reinstall might be worth the time and effort.
 
Joined
Jul 2, 2018
Messages
14
Reaction score
1
I appreciate your advise and attempt to help.
The matter seems complicated.
I had already did a new re-install and patch before seeking outside help.
 
Ad

Advertisements

Joined
Jul 2, 2018
Messages
14
Reaction score
1
Problem Solved in regedit:
HKEY_CURRENT_USER\software\scansoft\paperport\paperport user preference
BrowserSelect
Modify "Mozilla Firefox"
to
"none"

File, exit regedit
 
Joined
Aug 25, 2018
Messages
1
Reaction score
1
Problem Solved in regedit:
HKEY_CURRENT_USER\software\scansoft\paperport\paperport user preference
BrowserSelect
Modify "Mozilla Firefox"
to
"none"

File, exit regedit

Been looking for the fix for 2 months now, Thank you for this Narinesa :) . It helped. I can now use the Paperport.
 
Joined
Aug 30, 2018
Messages
1
Reaction score
1
Problem Solved in regedit:
HKEY_CURRENT_USER\software\scansoft\paperport\paperport user preference
BrowserSelect
Modify "Mozilla Firefox"
to
"none"

File, exit regedit
This worked folks! After uninstalls and reinstalls, it was this simple. Thanks Narinesa!
 
Joined
May 3, 2019
Messages
2
Reaction score
2
I've just installed PaperPort 14.5 Standard and it just would not run. The NUANCE icon would appear and then....nothing. I had PaperPort LE (or 12) before and it worked fine apart from 'not responding' regularly (that's why I upgraded it ).
I tried ALL the suggestions on this forum and the one that solved it was the regedit '' BrowserSelect/Mozilla Firefox'' modified to ''none''.
Thank you so very much Narinesa !!
 
Joined
May 3, 2019
Messages
2
Reaction score
2
Thank you for your recent post Joe.
Here I'm following up on my previous post of may 3 2019: after editing the registry PPort opened. I then downloaded ''PPort14.5 patch 1'' and installed it, after which PPort would show the splash screen and crash...again! I went to check on the registry and found that the patch had changed the ''BrowserSelect/ to Mozilla Firefox'' . I modified it back to ''none''. After which PPort could finally open. I then wrote the Nuance technical staff about it.
 
Joined
May 20, 2019
Messages
2
Reaction score
1
Hi Ryb,
Yes, there are cases of Mozilla Firefox getting back into BrowserSelected. Some folks have reported it happening when going to a new build of W10, others when reinstalling PaperPort...happened to me yesterday in a W8 sandbox after a Windows update...doesn't surprise me that Patch1 did it to you. In the nearly one year since I wrote the article, I still don't know why it happens...just that it does happen. You may want to keep around a .REG file (as mentioned in my article) for a quick fix so you don't have to navigate through the registry each time. Regards, Joe
 
Ad

Advertisements

Joined
Jun 15, 2019
Messages
1
Reaction score
0
I would appreciate any help on creating and using stamps (mostly signatures) in PapertPort. I would like to be able to add signatures to documents and then move it and resize it as required
 

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments. After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.

Ask a Question

Top