Purchased an open-box Dell laptop, how do I do a fresh install?

Reaction score
Just purchased a Dell laptop from BB (open-boxed) for my son, he's 6, first laptop. He's going to love Santa.
Anyways, I assume that Geek Squad wipes everything before selling it again? However, is their a way to do a fresh install, a reset or whatever you want to call it? I want it back to factory settings.
Windows 10 was preinstalled. Will I need to purchase a Win10 CD to start over? I want the hdd wiped clean, nothing left over, especially any Dell bloatware. I'm not tech savvy with laptops but their is only around 800GB of space left on a 1TB hdd. I know Win10 takes up space but this seems a little much. I have to do this tonight before I wrap it up.

Another dumb question. After I do the reset how do I properly back up Windows in case of a crash, etc.? I have a PC that needs a safety net as well. I have no idea how to back up my PC and now his laptop. Yes, I know it's sad. I just remember back in the day, I had to burn like 10 DVD's do to a backup. I have no idea what method is most highly recommended today & how to do it.
Thanks guys...

Reaction score
You are really going to do this all tonight?
Here is a link to Clean Install instructions;

http://www.howtogeek.com/224342/how-to-clean-install-windows-10/

For info just google it which is how I got the link above.

When it is up and running you can remove all the unwanted stuff by using Ccleaner. Here is a link

https://www.piriform.com/ccleaner/download

How long is it going to take to just reset Widows 10 back to factory settings?

On Reddit a user posted this to my same question:
IF Geek squad does anything at all to it it is probably just a factory image restore.
here is how to do that
I havn't used This tool but people tell me it works.
Most of the junk can usually be uninstalled via the 'programs and features' tool in the control panel.