RE : Dual Boot

Reaction score
I am considering dual boot install when the next Win 10 Consumer Preview is available.
I've never done dual booting before, so here are couple of questions.
I will be using my Win 7 Home Premium, 64-bit 4GB Ram. See the specs at the end.
Questions :
1. Does it matter which Win 10 bit version to install ?
2. Based on my Win 7 specs, is it practical to do dual booting ?
What I mean is, will it affect the performance of Win 7 if I need to give.....
min 1GB for Win 10 32-bit
or
min 2GB for Win 10 64-bit

Image 1.png

bassfisher6522

Reaction score
Dual booting is just partitioning your C drive, essentially making 2 drives. Then on the newly created HDD (partition) you just clean install windows 10 TP or what ever OS you want.

No it doesn't matter which version of 10 you use....provided you have a system that can handle a 64 bit setup.

There is no dividing up your hardware with a dual boot setup. That is only involved with when using a VM (virtual machine). Natively in windows 8 Pro/8.1 Pro, it has Hyper-V which will allow you to create a VM. It works pretty darn good and it's free. You just need to make sure Hyper-V is enabled first.

I have a Samsung RV511 (3 yrs old) triple booting....Windows 7 Home Premium OEM is the primary OS, 8.1 Pro and now window 10 TP. All are independent of one another and all run flawlessly.

bassfisher6522

Reaction score
BTW I label all my drives...just makes it easier for me when I want to manipulate a partition.

HDD management.PNG

Reaction score
I have to shrink the volume of Win 7 partition to make room for Win 10.
That is what I meant.

Question now is how much space should be allocated for Win 10, based on my Win 7 ? Disk management screenshot already posted.

Reaction score
OK. 100 GB for win 10.

Still one question.
...........No it doesn't matter which version of 10 you use....provided you have a system that can handle a 64 bit setup..............