SOLVED Removing and Restoring "Universal" Aps

Reaction score
This is more a curiosity and an annoyance than it is a problem, but perhaps someone knows the answer. I'm new to Windows 10 and have been trying to get it to look and behave as I would like. I've found that my options are much fewer than they were in Windows 7 (or maybe I just haven't found them all yet). In any case, the first thing I hated was the configuration of the Start menu. I've figured out how to banish the (ugh) tiles, but now I'm perplexed with the limited ability I have to customize what is left. I have figured out how to organize the items I put on the system into folders of my choosing. But I'm still plagued by a plethora of what I think are called "universal aps." I have located (in several places) instructions on how to remove them from the Start Menu, one by one. But all the instructions say, in essence, "here's how to get them back if you change your mind." All well and good. However, all those instructions have a single command to restore ALL of the removed items in one fell swoop. Result? I go through and painstakingly remove all of the ones I don't want, one by one. Then, I decide I want one of them back. Great. Now I get them ALL back, and must go through again to remove all the ones that I removed before, and never wanted back to begin with.

Thus my question. Is there a way to restore these aps, one by one, the way they can be taken off, or are we stuck with an all-or-nothing procedure?

Reaction score
Hi RP,

have you checked in Settings > Personalisation > Start?: :):):)

upload_2018-12-15_10-43-41.png

Click on "Choose which folders appear on Start" for more options. :):):)

Reaction score
Hi RP,

View attachment 9572

Wolfie, No, hadn't found that (I'm still groping my way around Win 10). Looks like the combination of OFF for the Show App List and ON for show most used apps MIGHT do the trick. I'll experiment a bit with that. Thanks.

Reaction score
Hi RP,

View attachment 9572