Replaced motherboard

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by DvK, Apr 13, 2018.

  1. DvK

    DvK

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2018
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    But it says i have to activate windows but i checked and i cant because it says its unlicensed and i really dont want to buy windows again because this annoying watermark while working
     
    DvK, Apr 13, 2018
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. DvK

    bassfisher6522 Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2014
    Messages:
    1,173
    Likes Received:
    155
    If you had a legit copy of windows, it wouldn't have that water mark on it.
     
    bassfisher6522, Apr 13, 2018
    #2
    davehc likes this.
    1. Advertisements

  3. DvK

    Bighorn

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2017
    Messages:
    851
    Likes Received:
    124
    Replacing the motherboard could be showing Microsoft it is a different computer, probably the biggest change one can make that will not activate without a phone call to Microsoft.
     
    Bighorn, Apr 14, 2018
    #3
  4. DvK

    bassfisher6522 Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2014
    Messages:
    1,173
    Likes Received:
    155
    The key word for me that sets of a big red flag is the OP mention of the "watermark". No legit copy has that.
     
    bassfisher6522, Apr 14, 2018
    #4
  5. DvK

    davehc

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2013
    Messages:
    3,578
    Likes Received:
    700
    Location:
    Denmark
    I have recently, change a couple of motherboards. As it happens, they were Dells. These were pre licenced with Microsoft, by Dell. There was documentation with them, should the activation go wrong, including a new, licenced, key. After installation they were already activated.

    I agree with Bass. There should not be a watermark. The OP can sort out the problem with a quick call to the MS facility.
     
    davehc, Apr 14, 2018
    #5
  6. DvK

    DvK

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2018
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hey guys thanks that (some of) you were trying to help me but for some reason its just gone so i guess thats going for me
     
    DvK, Apr 14, 2018
    #6
  7. DvK

    Jake B

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2015
    Messages:
    327
    Likes Received:
    47
    Well if you used a Microsoft account to login it would link the hardware change to your Digital Entitlement. This link was a new feature on one of the Windows 10 updates. It was added to limit the need to call MS after doing a hardware change and then a Windows install. No it used to be that MS considered a motherboard upgrade a new computer but they haven't been clear on that now. It used to be a motherboard replacement for damaged board with the same motherboard was ok but a change or upgrade was a new PC and required a new license.
     
    Last edited: May 1, 2018
    Jake B, May 1, 2018
    #7
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.