SOLVED Samsung M3 external HD_Invisible in Win 10_What to do?


Joined
Jun 29, 2020
Messages
13
Reaction score
2
I had Win 10 pro installed half a year ago and Samsung M3 was doing fine, at some point Win got kind of clogged so I reinstalled and now is nowhere to be seen in Devices and drives, I include some screenshots form Device Manager, DISKPART and Disk Management where it shows detected but further I have no idea what to do, any tips?
 

Attachments

Ad

Advertisements

Joined
Apr 22, 2017
Messages
3,805
Reaction score
482
Hi nuber,

on the 4th pic, it says that there is 32GB FAT32 partition (drive: L) and a 899.51GB unallocated partition, I assume you would need to format the 900GB to make it show up?. :)
 
Joined
Apr 22, 2017
Messages
3,805
Reaction score
482
Hi nuber,

did you format the entire drive to NTFS format afterwards?. ;)
 
Joined
Jun 29, 2020
Messages
13
Reaction score
2
Hello Wolfie,

No I didn't, didn't want to screw up and lose all the data, should I do the NTFS?

To make things worse, read somewhere If I uninstall the USB port from the Device Manager and restart Windows will fix it ...only it didn't happen, life doesn't get easier :(
 
Last edited:

bassfisher6522

Moderator
Joined
Sep 22, 2014
Messages
1,624
Reaction score
293
I had Win 10 pro installed half a year ago and Samsung M3 was doing fine,
This is where I'm confused.....you have you OS installed on the Samsung M3 or the C drive of PC?

From what I'm reading the Samsung M3 is a portable drive. And such is meant to be used like a Flash Drive for storage as it has the same partition setup as a flash drive....ie FAT, FAT 32 or NTFS.
 
Ad

Advertisements

Joined
Jun 29, 2020
Messages
13
Reaction score
2
This is where I'm confused.....you have you OS installed on the Samsung M3 or the C drive of PC?

From what I'm reading the Samsung M3 is a portable drive. And such is meant to be used like a Flash Drive for storage as it has the same partition setup as a flash drive....ie FAT, FAT 32 or NTFS.
Yes I have the OS (win 10) on the C: drive and the Samsung M3 connected via USB port but for some reason I don't see it in the File Explorer so I can't access it
 

Attachments

bassfisher6522

Moderator
Joined
Sep 22, 2014
Messages
1,624
Reaction score
293
That attachment is not file explorer. Does it show up in disk management? Have you tried a different USB port. It could be a power issue from the USB. Try a USB port on the back of PC.
 
Joined
Apr 22, 2017
Messages
3,805
Reaction score
482
Open Computer Management > Disk Manager and see if it is there and marked as "Unallocated" space, if it is, right click it and then "Format as" and choose NTFS. :)

1593528767177.png
 
Ad

Advertisements

Joined
Apr 22, 2017
Messages
3,805
Reaction score
482
Hi nuber,

yes you should click finish but I was under the impression that there was/is nothing on it apart from what you might have had in the 32GB partition?. If you have files on there, back them up before continuing or you will lose whatever is on there!. You do know what formatting a drive involves don't you?. :)
 
Joined
Jun 29, 2020
Messages
13
Reaction score
2
Hi nuber,

yes you should click finish but I was under the impression that there was/is nothing on it apart from what you might have had in the 32GB partition?. If you have files on there, back them up before continuing or you will lose whatever is on there!. You do know what formatting a drive involves don't you?. :)
Hello Wolfie,

I can't get in the drive, that's what i've been trying to explain all this time so I can't backup, thing is the drive shows in other places as valid but not in the File Explorer, I'm glad didn't hit the finish button lol
 

Attachments

bassfisher6522

Moderator
Joined
Sep 22, 2014
Messages
1,624
Reaction score
293
n't get in the drive
That is exactly why I don't use the portable drives or a HDD/SSD caddy...as you hear the horror stories of drive going missing, gotten corrupt or what else. Cheap hardware and firmware....and this is what you get. They are portable and are not meant to be left connected 24/7.

I will always opt for internal connections of the PC. In my case/situation, I use a HDD/SSD docking station with known quality hardware/firmware.

If you can't access the drive from with in windows you'll need to format the whole drive to make it usable again. Before you do that, I would download a Linux Distro and create a bootable USB drive. Then boot from it and see if you can access the the drive that way. If so backup al your data to a USB flash drive. Then format your Samsung M3.
 
Joined
Apr 22, 2017
Messages
3,805
Reaction score
482
Hi nuber,

I would follow @bassfisher6522 advice and use a Linux version to save whatever you have on the drive, you can run it in "Live Mode" and no changes will be made to your computer, I would use something like "Linux Mint" and create a bootable Linux USB stick using "Rufus", it is very easy to use!.


Grab an ISO file for Linux Mint from the following link. I would choose the Cinnamon version.


See also.


Included in the apps is GParted which is a partition manager and once/if you manage to save your data, you can use that to format the drive in question!.

WARNING; MAKE SURE YOU SELECT THE CORRECT DRIVE FOR FORMATTING OTHERWISE YOU CAN ERASE THE WRONG PARTITION AND YOU WON'T HAVE A USEABLE COMPUTER AND SUFFER DATA LOSE: BACK UP ALL YOUR DATA TO A DRIVE YOU KNOW THAT WORKS AND IS SAFE BEFORE YOU START!. ;)
 
Ad

Advertisements

Joined
Jun 29, 2020
Messages
13
Reaction score
2
Linux? omg ..tried Mint when I was using Win 7 and got lost in the complicated commands eventually gave up and went to Win 10
In the meantime managed to make the drive visible again in the File Explorer but as RAW, any chance I could convert from RAW to NTFS without data loss? (see new thread)
 
Joined
Jun 29, 2020
Messages
13
Reaction score
2
Hi Wolfie

Since my thread was Samsung M3 external HD_Invisible in Win 10_What to do? and now visible guess is solved
now the problem is how to convert from RAW to NTFS so I started a new thread where my Q is more clear
 
Ad

Advertisements


Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments. After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.

Ask a Question

Top