Sending files without using Outlook

Reaction score
Having just got a new PC with Windows 10, which I've never used before, I want to send files by email without using Outlook, which I don't have and don't want. I have set the preinstalled Windows Mail app (on which I have created my several web mail accounts, all functioning properly) as default mail client, but however I try and send a file, Outlook muscles in and of course won't work because I don't have it. I've tried Share as an option rather than Send To, but no dice. I'm sure this has been dealt with before but I can't find exactly this issue in existing posts. Can it really not be done from Mail? Thanks very much for any help, and patience with a newbie!

Reaction score
I usually create a new E-Mail using Online/Webmail or maybe Reply to a message then Attach the file I want to send. I don't use the right-click of a file and Send to, Mail recipient, as you have noted that normally brings up a default program. The only restriction I've hit is with the file size, most ISPs and E-Mail providers have limits. A new PC implies it may have some version of Microsoft Office available, Click-to-Run or a Trial copy.

Reaction score
Having just got a new PC with Windows 10, which I've never used before, I want to send files by email without using Outlook, which I don't have and don't want. I have set the preinstalled Windows Mail app (on which I have created my several web mail accounts, all functioning properly) as default mail client, but however I try and send a file, Outlook muscles in and of course won't work because I don't have it. I've tried Share as an option rather than Send To, but no dice. I'm sure this has been dealt with before but I can't find exactly this issue in existing posts. Can it really not be done from Mail? Thanks very much for any help, and patience with a newbie!