SOLVED Size limit on hard drive

Reaction score
I want to add a second hard drive to my PC with Win 10 32bits. Is there a limit to the size of the hard drive?
Thanks

Reaction score
It would be easier for me to simple post a wiki link for you to read through. There are several advancements through the years that changed drive limits.

because of the limitations of master boot record (MBR) partition tables, which use 32 bits for logical block addressing (LBA) of traditional 512-byte disk sectors.
Because of the wording in your question. I'm lead to mention MBR being the limitation, not CPU addressing.

Reaction score
It would be easier for me to simple post a wiki link for you to read through. There are several advancements through the years that changed drive limits.

Because of the wording in your question. I'm lead to mention MBR being the limitation, not CPU addressing.
Thanks for trying to help me. Unfortunately I’m not a computer expert and don’t understand the articles. I just want to know if I can buy and use say a 4 or 5 tb hard drive.

Reaction score
Yes as a data drive. If I remember correctly. As a boot drive your system will need to be able to boot GPT partitions for drives over 2TB.

Please wait for a second opinion. I'm a bit hazy on the topic of GPT.

Reaction score
It would be nice if you could post your system Specifications. That way we can give you a more fitting advice.

Since you want to add a drive to your already existing drive (I am assuming that it is a Desktop PC??), you could in theory add a size you like. When installing the drive, Windows will let you know in the disk manager that the drive at first will be offline. To get it "online" it must be partitioned and formatted. Windows will take the appropriate steps to lead you through this process.
Drives larger than 2TB must be formatted as GPT ( https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/GUID_Partition_Table ) as the old MBR