SOLVED transfer files-Filename Is Too Long


Joined
Aug 20, 2020
Messages
5
Reaction score
1
Hi,
I use windows 10, and I have a problem while trying to transfer files(800 G) from my laptop to another new one(win 10) via LAN,
I tried to do the normal copy and also tried with Robocopy , both the two ways give a message like "Filename Is Too Long ",
Thanks
 
Ad

Advertisements

Joined
Sep 26, 2017
Messages
2,248
Reaction score
431
Historically a file name was 8.3, only 8 characters for the name and 3 characters for the extension. That started changing with Win95 and WinNT4 or 2000. The name usually is limited to 255 characters but in some cases of copying/moving files the whole path to the file can be a stumbling block, have had success in moving a file to a different folder, not a subfolder, to shorten that path.
 
Joined
Apr 22, 2017
Messages
4,323
Reaction score
564
Hi Adam,

please see the following link but the usual warning "USE AT YOUR OWN RISK"!.

 
Joined
Aug 20, 2020
Messages
5
Reaction score
1
Historically a file name was 8.3, only 8 characters for the name and 3 characters for the extension. That started changing with Win95 and WinNT4 or 2000. The name usually is limited to 255 characters but in some cases of copying/moving files the whole path to the file can be a stumbling block, have had success in moving a file to a different folder, not a subfolder, to shorten that path.
I have experience with " shorten that path ", it didn't help, because I need everything to copy as it
thanks for your helpful info
 
Joined
Sep 26, 2017
Messages
2,248
Reaction score
431
It's more work and time involved but I've had success in compressing multiple files in a folder into one file then moving or copying that file into the destination folder followed by decompressing it there. Win10 File Explorer should be able to handle it or get the free 7-Zip.
 
Ad

Advertisements

Joined
Aug 20, 2020
Messages
5
Reaction score
1
Hi Adam,

please see the following link but the usual warning "USE AT YOUR OWN RISK"!.

I tried to apply this solution but no way and I tried Teracopy too but it still gives me the same message
I don't know if my windows need to be changed or it is just on the OS capabilities.
 
Joined
Aug 20, 2020
Messages
5
Reaction score
1
It's more work and time involved but I've had success in compressing multiple files in a folder into one file then moving or copying that file into the destination folder followed by decompressing it there. Win10 File Explorer should be able to handle it or get the free 7-Zip.
this is a solution that can be applied for smaller folders, compressing and decompressing will take so much time and I can't be sure that everything will be copied as the same Historically on the source? do you think it worth to try
 
Ad

Advertisements

Joined
Aug 20, 2020
Messages
5
Reaction score
1
Hi guys
Thanks for your helpful solutions which directed me after a full search to find gs richcopy360 , it works fine with me, all data copied successfully without any problems or error messages,, I feel good now
 

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments. After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.

Ask a Question

Top