UI text rendering on Windows 10

Reaction score
Hi All,

The attached file is a screenshot of the pop up menu when you right click on the desktop.
In particular is the top part of it. I took it using the Windows 10's magnifier utility.

As you can see the text doesn't seem to be rendered correctly. That applies also to all UI's components of Windows 10 and everything else. As I am a developer, I stay many hours in front of this monitor and usually that hurts my eyes (without considering the high contrast theme, another additional pain).

What I'd like to understand is if that is a normal Windows rendering behavior or is a bad setting somewhere.

Thanks a lot

Details:
Windows 10 fully updated.
NVIDIA video card driver fully updated.
Adjust ClearType Text option checked (Control Panel -> Fonts)
"Smooth edges of screen fonts" option checked (Windows 10 Performance Options panel)
NVIDIA Control Panel Antialiasing options is on.

Attachments

• Text Rendering on Windows 10.png
    Text Rendering on Windows 10.png
    330.1 KB · Views: 758
Reaction score
Hi Wolfie,

Thanks for your answer.

do you actually have the latest version of W10?:
I updated W10 through the Windows Update:
Version: 1709
OS Build: 16299.214

What are your screen res settings telling you?:
Everything is left by default or reccomended:
Scale and Layout: 100%
Resolution: 2560x1440 (native)

Any other idea?

Thanks

Reaction score
I have very little experience with Nvidia graphics. On my Intel machines, I can safely magnify to at least 500 , without the slightest distortion.
Is there any way you can by pass the Nvidia control panel and only use the Windows 10 facilities.?

Reaction score
Thanks for the answers.

@Wolfie,
As I wrote in the first post, the video card driver is fully updated. A GeForce 1060 with the 390.77 driver version.
I also uninstalled the last driver and in turn installed the last three drivers without any difference or improvement.

@davehc,