SOLVED Unable to open a Windows 10 Forum page


Ad

Advertisements

Ian

Administrator
Joined
Oct 27, 2013
Messages
1,615
Reaction score
553
That is interesting - it looks like that page is trying to load part of the forum admin panel. Is anyone else getting the same error?
 
Joined
Nov 19, 2013
Messages
4,500
Reaction score
872
Normal connect to the link for me. Maybe (?), he has to mark initially , to stay logged in?
 
  • Like
Reactions: Ian
Joined
Jan 28, 2016
Messages
15
Reaction score
2
It is from the Windows 10 Forums May 2019 Newsletter! - Under How to Check Your System Specifications.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Ian

Ian

Administrator
Joined
Oct 27, 2013
Messages
1,615
Reaction score
553
Thanks @tacoslammer, hopefully someone else here can replicate it too. Could you do me a favour please and press F12 in your browser (after you've clicked "cancel" on that popup) and let me know if any errors appear in the "console" tab. It should alert me to where the problematic link on the page is.
 
Joined
Jan 28, 2016
Messages
15
Reaction score
2
Why must one go through having to enter a RUN command to get info that should be available from Specifications or a link from the Start Menu??????
 
Joined
Jan 28, 2016
Messages
15
Reaction score
2
Now it did not connect again!!!!! Clicked the F12, nothing at all under Console TAB; i.e. blank page.
 

Ian

Administrator
Joined
Oct 27, 2013
Messages
1,615
Reaction score
553
I'll do some testing, as this error should not be happening, and I'm not sure why you are seeing that popup. Next time it happens, it would be a great help if you could click "cancel" on the popup, then right click the page somewhere and select "view page source". Then, save that source code to a .txt file and upload it to the forum. That should show me where it's trying to access that link from :). It would really help me out if you're able to do this, as I can't see why this is happening.
 
Joined
Nov 19, 2013
Messages
4,500
Reaction score
872
Still Ok here. What browser are you using when you try to open it?

Fwiw. Any other comments from members???
 

Trouble

Noob Whisperer
Moderator
Joined
Nov 19, 2013
Messages
12,384
Reaction score
1,990
No problems with IE, Chrome or Edge
Maybe try flushing DNS, just to see if there's a bad "A" or "AAAA" record cached.
 
Joined
Jan 28, 2016
Messages
15
Reaction score
2
I'll do some testing, as this error should not be happening, and I'm not sure why you are seeing that popup. Next time it happens, it would be a great help if you could click "cancel" on the popup, then right click the page somewhere and select "view page source". Then, save that source code to a .txt file and upload it to the forum. That should show me where it's trying to access that link from :). It would really help me out if you're able to do this, as I can't see why this is happening.
 

Attachments

Joined
Jan 28, 2016
Messages
15
Reaction score
2
Ian,
Per your request here is the info:
<!DOCTYPE html PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD XHTML 1.0 Strict//EN" "http://www.w3.org/TR/xhtml1/DTD/xhtml1-strict.dtd">
<html xmlns="http://www.w3.org/1999/xhtml">
<head>
<meta http-equiv="Content-Type" content="text/html; charset=iso-8859-1"/>
<title>401 - Unauthorized: Access is denied due to invalid credentials.</title>
<style type="text/css">
<!--
body{margin:0;font-size:.7em;font-family:Verdana, Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif;background:#EEEEEE;}
fieldset{padding:0 15px 10px 15px;}
h1{font-size:2.4em;margin:0;color:#FFF;}
h2{font-size:1.7em;margin:0;color:#CC0000;}
h3{font-size:1.2em;margin:10px 0 0 0;color:#000000;}
#header{width:96%;margin:0 0 0 0;padding:6px 2% 6px 2%;font-family:"trebuchet MS", Verdana, sans-serif;color:#FFF;
background-color:#555555;}
#content{margin:0 0 0 2%;position:relative;}
.content-container{background:#FFF;width:96%;margin-top:8px;padding:10px;position:relative;}
-->
</style>
</head>
<body>
<div id="header"><h1>Server Error</h1></div>
<div id="content">
<div class="content-container"><fieldset>
<h2>401 - Unauthorized: Access is denied due to invalid credentials.</h2>
<h3>You do not have permission to view this directory or page using the credentials that you supplied.</h3>
</fieldset></div>
</div>
</body>
</html>
 

Ian

Administrator
Joined
Oct 27, 2013
Messages
1,615
Reaction score
553
Thanks @tacoslammer - that is interesting. It looks like you're being redirected to an access denied page, I expected that the page it sent you to would be a normal page with an embedded link to an image or similar behind the admin.php page.

I'll try using FF and see if I can replicate this.
 
Joined
Jan 28, 2016
Messages
15
Reaction score
2
The other day it appeared to be kind of rendom. I.e. on a couple of occasions I got the right page the May 2019 Newsletter refereed to: How to Check Your System Specifications. Just now it opened the right page. Earlier today I got the lock out notice. Then tried again just now and got the Authentication Required notice. Go figure!!!! :confused:
 

Trouble

Noob Whisperer
Moderator
Joined
Nov 19, 2013
Messages
12,384
Reaction score
1,990
I assume this is the link that is causing the issue??

IS it possible that the link included in the most recent news letter was bad in the email?
 
  • Like
Reactions: Ian
Joined
Jan 28, 2016
Messages
15
Reaction score
2
Ad

Advertisements

Ian

Administrator
Joined
Oct 27, 2013
Messages
1,615
Reaction score
553
IS it possible that the link included in the most recent news letter was bad in the email?
Yep, it looks like this is the cause! I'm working on fixing it now :).

Thank you for alerting me to this @tacoslammer, I should have the fix in place soon.
 

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments. After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.

Ask a Question

Top