Unauthenticated Network

Discussion in 'Networking' started by Bobpal, Aug 7, 2018.

  1. Bobpal

    Bobpal

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2018
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Win 10 machines (HP EliteDesks for the most part) on our local domain go unauthenticated network after updating with the fall feature update. we have found a work around for this ( clean installing Microsoft 1803 OS). we tried using the oem system disks to clean install, but as soon as the updates run, the network goes unauthenticated again. we have over 150 computers and find it quite time consuming and unrealistic to do a clean install on every computer. Does anyone have a fix for this?
     
    Bobpal, Aug 7, 2018
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. Bobpal

    Tim Locke

    Joined:
    May 6, 2015
    Messages:
    2,273
    Likes Received:
    343
    Location:
    Guelph On
    I have been retired for 12 years and I had 'people' to do the deep down stuff but.

    Your domain has a proper Microsoft server and everybody logs onto that? No peer to peer.
    The workstations are all using W10 pro and are fully controlled by the server?
    The server is the sole repository of userids, permissions etc. I.e an old fashioned server doing server stuff.
     
    Tim Locke, Aug 8, 2018
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. Bobpal

    Trouble Noob Whisperer Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2013
    Messages:
    11,460
    Likes Received:
    1,806
    Location:
    Northwest Indiana U.S.A.
    1803 doesn't need to be a "clean install" you can install it as an upgrade.
    I worked on a lot of Windows Domains since NT4 and I've never seen that term "unauthenticated network".
    My immediate suspicion would be that something is messing with your IP config and as a result the device is not seeing or communicating with your Local DNS server (often but not always the DC)
    I would double check that your DHCP server is configured properly to hand out appropriate and proper DNS information
    AND
    That they are not grabbing IP addressing info from some rogue DHCP server (router) on the network somewhere.
     
    Trouble, Aug 8, 2018
    #3
    Tim Locke likes this.
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.