Cannot access Windows 7 computers from network explorer

SOLVED Discussion in 'Windows 10 Support' started by moiseyo, Jan 12, 2019.

  1. moiseyo

    moiseyo

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2016
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    1
    My cpmputer Windows 10 prof 64 bits , computer Dell XPS 8910 40 GB memory 1 TB hard drive

    Antivirus "Norton Security Suite"
    I can see Windows 7 computers in network menu explorer

    I can ping Windows 7 computers

    I can use Remote Desktop to connect to windows 7 computers

    The problem in cannot use Windows 7 resourses loke directories and printers

    Before problem was resulved via "Home Group", after last update Home Group in windows gone.

    What is work around that problem Network.png Ping.png
     
    moiseyo, Jan 12, 2019
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. moiseyo

    Trouble Noob Whisperer Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2013
    Messages:
    11,769
    Likes Received:
    1,873
    Location:
    Northwest Indiana U.S.A.
    Trouble, Jan 12, 2019
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. moiseyo

    moiseyo

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2016
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    1

    Thank you I tryed
    update.png
     
    moiseyo, Jan 12, 2019
    #3
  4. moiseyo

    Trouble Noob Whisperer Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2013
    Messages:
    11,769
    Likes Received:
    1,873
    Location:
    Northwest Indiana U.S.A.
    Are you saying that it can not be uninstalled??
     
    Trouble, Jan 12, 2019
    #4
    moiseyo likes this.
  5. moiseyo

    Clintlgm

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2017
    Messages:
    379
    Likes Received:
    65
    Location:
    New Orleans North Shore Louisiana
    Yes, Homegroup is gone in 10. the workaround is to go back to workgroups yes the same one we used for years. Once you have your Workgroup set up, I usually have the EXACT same Admin user on all networked computer. So I share to "Authorized Users" the User only has to be on the computer it doesn't need to be running in that profile just has to be on the computer.
    Ensure that SMB 1.0 is turned off.
    Then ensure that
    Function Discovery Provider Host
    Function Discovery Resource Publication
    these services have to be running and set to autostart. You'll type in services.msc and right click and run as admin.

    One Point, be sure that each computer has the exact same Admin User Clinton J Wright is not the same as Clinton J. Wright this alone threw me off for a couple of days one time. Windows 10 does not make it easy for us to run P2P or workgroup networks but it can be done, I have 5 units in my workgroup presently. The only Issue I have is every once in a while I'll have to go restart the
    Function Discovery Provider Host
    Function Discovery Resource Publication
     
    Clintlgm, Jan 12, 2019
    #5
  6. moiseyo

    Trouble Noob Whisperer Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2013
    Messages:
    11,769
    Likes Received:
    1,873
    Location:
    Northwest Indiana U.S.A.
  7. moiseyo

    Trouble Noob Whisperer Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2013
    Messages:
    11,769
    Likes Received:
    1,873
    Location:
    Northwest Indiana U.S.A.
    On the Windows 7 machine(s)
    Run CMD as Administrator
    type "wusa /uninstall /kb:4480970"
    Rest is self explanatory.
     
    Trouble, Jan 12, 2019
    #7
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.