Windows cannot access the specified device, path or file.

SOLVED Discussion in 'Windows 10 Support' started by Wolfgang W. Stachel, Sep 16, 2018.

  1. Wolfgang W. Stachel

    Wolfgang W. Stachel

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2015
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Austin, Texas
    Without having made any changes to my Dell XPS-8920 Desktop, one of my programs (SyncBack Pro 8) stopped working giving me the message as shown on the attached png file. All other software is working fine. As this occurred out of nowhere, I suspect it is caused by Windows 10 with Microsoft being the elephant in the room. I am the only user of the machine as the Administrator.

    I have done the following:
    1. Uninstalled the program
    2. Removed all references of the program in the Registry
    3. Reinstalled the program
    4. Checked if the file was blocked by Windows
    5. Disabled Norton Internet Security
    6. Check that the proper permissions are granted

    Dell XPS-8920 Desktop
    Windows 10 Pro with latest updates from MS (64 bit)

    Any help and/or feedback is greatly appreciated.

    Capture.PNG Capture.PNG
     
    Wolfgang W. Stachel, Sep 16, 2018
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. Wolfgang W. Stachel

    Garyw

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2015
    Messages:
    132
    Likes Received:
    21
    Location:
    Florida
    Just a few thoughts: I assume that your list of steps is out of order and that you did steps 4 and 5 before re-installing? Some programs are notorious for leaving garbage behind after uninstalling. Might be worth while to see if SyncBackPro has a post removal cleanup program. Also, verify that the correct .exe program is in C:\Program Files or (x86), which ever is appropriate. If you disabled Norton, it's possible that Windows Defender became active and blocked installation via Controlled folder access. I
     
    Garyw, Sep 16, 2018
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. Wolfgang W. Stachel

    Wolfgang W. Stachel

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2015
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Austin, Texas
    Thank you for your response. Sorry for not being clear. Actually, I did steps 4, 5 & 6 before uninstalling and then again after reinstalling the software. 2BrightSparks, the author of the SyncBackPro program, informed me that this problem is caused by Windows. I found that interesting as all of my other programs perform as expected. They supplied me with several steps to remedy the problem, none of which worked. I then searched the Internet for this problem and I found several posts with the same problem with different software, among them Microsoft Word. However, there were no solutions that I could discern.


    Finally, I did remove all remnants of the program from the C:\Program Files directory before reinstalling the program. There were no other program files in either the C:\ Program Files (x86) or C:\Program Data directories. The correct .exe file are (and were) in C:\Program Files.
     
    Wolfgang W. Stachel, Sep 17, 2018
    #3
  4. Wolfgang W. Stachel

    Garyw

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2015
    Messages:
    132
    Likes Received:
    21
    Location:
    Florida
    I'm stumped for the moment, although I'll do some looking tomorrow.

    You might try System File Check. Right click on Start, Left click on Command Prompt (Admin) and enter sfc /scannow, then [Enter]. If it comes back no errors, run it a couple of times more to be sure. In any event post the results.

    I know there have been a few issues with some older programs running on W10, version 1803. Office 2003 had some issues. In your online searches, did you find others having problems with (SyncBack Pro 8) ?
     
    Garyw, Sep 17, 2018
    #4
  5. Wolfgang W. Stachel

    Garyw

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2015
    Messages:
    132
    Likes Received:
    21
    Location:
    Florida
    What version of W10 are you running. I saw several references to SBP8 having problems with W10 v1709. Their suggestion was to use SBP8 Beta. Are you running the latest available version SBP?
     
    Garyw, Sep 17, 2018
    #5
  6. Wolfgang W. Stachel

    Wolfgang W. Stachel

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2015
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Austin, Texas
    Running Version 1803 (OS Build 17134.285.

    Here is a strange thing that occurs following reinstallation of SyncBackPro. The final dialog when the installation is finished asks if I want to launch the program. Launching it that way results in the program working as expected. Minimizing and maximizing the program to the Task Bar works fine. However, if I exit the program and relaunch from the Start screen, Window gives me the dreaded message.

    For what's it worth, I installed SyncBackPro on one of my other computers. Low and behold, it works perfectly. So, the problem seems to be caused by my Win10 OS.
     

    Attached Files:

    Wolfgang W. Stachel, Sep 17, 2018
    #6
  7. Wolfgang W. Stachel

    Wolfgang W. Stachel

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2015
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Austin, Texas
     
    Wolfgang W. Stachel, Sep 17, 2018
    #7
  8. Wolfgang W. Stachel

    Garyw

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2015
    Messages:
    132
    Likes Received:
    21
    Location:
    Florida
    Sorry. I meant
    SyncBackPro

    If SBP works on another machine then we have to isolate the differences in the two systems. Are both running the same version of windows 10? Run winver on both.
     
    Garyw, Sep 17, 2018
    #8
  9. Wolfgang W. Stachel

    Wolfgang W. Stachel

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2015
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Austin, Texas
    Yes, both machines running the same Win10 version.

    I did not mention it before, but I also tried Systems Restore, but none of the restore points work for some reason.
     
    Wolfgang W. Stachel, Sep 17, 2018
    #9
  10. Wolfgang W. Stachel

    Garyw

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2015
    Messages:
    132
    Likes Received:
    21
    Location:
    Florida
    What happens if you go to C:\programs or (x86) and double click the correct .exe file. If it starts from there, then create a new shortcut for start menu / taskbar.
     
    Garyw, Sep 18, 2018
    #10
  11. Wolfgang W. Stachel

    Wolfgang W. Stachel

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2015
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Austin, Texas
    All program files are in C:\Program Files\2BrightSparks. SyncBackPro.exe is located in that folder. Right clicking and "Run as administrator" or double clicking on the file produce the same result. I contacted 2BrightSparks's customer service (which is excellent) and was informed correctly that since their product works on my second machine, the problem is with my failing one and that there is nothing they can do.

    Just for kicks, I uninstalled SyncBackPro 8 and installed the previous version SyncBackPro 7 and found it to be working perfectly.
     
    Wolfgang W. Stachel, Sep 18, 2018
    #11
  12. Wolfgang W. Stachel

    Garyw

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2015
    Messages:
    132
    Likes Received:
    21
    Location:
    Florida
    The only thing left is to compare the two machines setting by setting to see if you can find any differences in Windows setup. Any updates on one, but not the other?

    What is different between 7 and 8?
     
    Garyw, Sep 18, 2018
    #12
  13. Wolfgang W. Stachel

    Wolfgang W. Stachel

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2015
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Austin, Texas
    Both machines show the same updates, so I cannot discern any differences.

    Differences between 7 & 8: 32bit to 64bit, vastly improved Cloud services, greater speed. It's starting to look like a clean install of Windows 10 is on the horizon. Frightful thought.
     
    Wolfgang W. Stachel, Sep 18, 2018
    #13
  14. Wolfgang W. Stachel

    Garyw

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2015
    Messages:
    132
    Likes Received:
    21
    Location:
    Florida
    Clone your existing system first! Or at least backup to a different disk. Doing an "Upgrade repair" (reinstalling windows from within the current OS) probably won't work, because it keeps files and settings. Windows Defender Security Center offers a "Fresh start", but know that it will upgrade to the latest version, and you will need to reinstall your third party programs
     
    Garyw, Sep 18, 2018
    #14
  15. Wolfgang W. Stachel

    Wolfgang W. Stachel

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2015
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Austin, Texas
    I remembered that SyncBackPro 8 comes in a 64 bit and a 32 bit version. I downloaded the 32 bit version and. low and behold, it works fine. I am going to delay a fresh Win10 installation for now.
     
    Wolfgang W. Stachel, Sep 19, 2018
    #15
  16. Wolfgang W. Stachel

    Garyw

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2015
    Messages:
    132
    Likes Received:
    21
    Location:
    Florida
    Glad you found a solution. Please mark this thread solved.
     
    Garyw, Sep 19, 2018
    #16
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.