Why Is Microsoft Edge Not Universally Accepted?


Joined
Aug 8, 2015
Messages
33
Reaction score
1
I'm fairly certain I have the latest version of Microsoft Edge, but in some cases when I use it, I get a message indicating that my browser is not acceptable, or out of date, or something similar. Why is that? I'm up to date on all the Windows 10 updates. What am I missing?
 
Ad

Advertisements

Joined
Nov 19, 2013
Messages
6,120
Reaction score
1,249
I haven't experienced that. If not too private, could you name a site?
 
Joined
Aug 8, 2015
Messages
33
Reaction score
1
Here's just one sample out of many
 

Attachments

  • edge no.jpg
    edge no.jpg
    489 KB · Views: 27
Joined
Oct 26, 2016
Messages
2,284
Reaction score
681
I do not have an issue with Youtube.com on Edge Version 102.0.1245.44 (Official build) (64-bit). As a matter of fact, I have yet to find a website that is complaining about Edge browser.
Is it possible that your settings maybe too restrictive?? I can't think of another reason why you are having these issues..
 
Joined
Sep 26, 2017
Messages
2,982
Reaction score
583
All I can add is some Web sites haven't updated to recognize Edge properly, some links on a Web page may be looking for IE but that has gone away. Putting iexplore.exe in the Search box may flash part of a previous page but will then open Edge as the default.
 
Joined
Aug 8, 2015
Messages
33
Reaction score
1
I have the same version as indicated above, per the attached. How would my "settings be too restrictive"??
 

Attachments

  • edge no 2.jpg
    edge no 2.jpg
    158.3 KB · Views: 10
Ad

Advertisements

Joined
Jun 15, 2015
Messages
23
Reaction score
7
I had something similar happen. Turns out, even though I had the latest version of Edge installed, my DEFAULT browser was set to Internet Exploder. I completely uninstalled IE and switched the default browser, and everything was ok.
 
Joined
Jul 20, 2015
Messages
37
Reaction score
4
It according to me is an equally sad PITA as Google Chrome. 2 Gb ram and 17 background processes after you exit the application? Who needs that ? Vivaldi, based on the same Chromium code, does a 1000 times better job and leaves no remnants in memory when you exit.
 
Ad

Advertisements

Joined
Nov 19, 2013
Messages
6,120
Reaction score
1,249
You aren't quite up to date, but I don't think it has anything to do with you problem
 

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments. After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.

Ask a Question

Top