Windows 10 update changed boot drive to external USB HDD

Reaction score
Hi everyone. I'm a newbie here, and this is my first post. If I do something wrong, please forgive me.

It's a very long story, but I'll try to be brief. I saw a post or two similar to my problem, but not quite.

I have a Dell Latitude E6500; it's a 32-bit system. I replace the HDD with a Seagate 500 gig; there are no other physical drives in it. It has worked perfectly for several years. Among other things, it was loaded with Win7, lots of Microsoft programs and other stuff. I was happy. However, the free upgrade to Windows 10 came along, and after some time, I succumbed to upgrading. After a while, I came to like Windows 10, and things were good.

A few months ago, I noticed something from Microsoft was being downloaded, and it seemed extremely slow. As it turned out, the download was extremely large. Whatever it was, being that large, I didn't want it- my mistake, and I can only claim ignorance. After a few days, I learned it was a mandatory update that I could not cancel. During the process, it rebooted a couple of times, more or less, but always came back. There was a blue screen a time or two, but a power off-on allowed it to boot again.

One fateful night, I simply could not get it to boot. I eventually got to the machine's diagnostics, to discover that the HDD had a bad sector, corrupt file, or something to that effect; I don't recall exactly, now. I didn't have a bootable disk, and no way to make one, so I was dead in the water.

At some point, I borrowed a laptop from a friend, put the HDD out of my Dell laptop into my BlackX USB external drive, which also has a 1 TB drive for storage, and connected it all to the USB port on the borrowed laptop. I had the foresight to copy my data from the 500 gig Dell drive, now in the Black X USB device, to the 1 TB storage drive.