Windows Office Professional Plus 2010 ProplusWW.msi

Discussion in 'Software' started by SPENCER, Aug 24, 2015.

  1. SPENCER

    SPENCER

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2015
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Since upgrading to Windows 10 I am receiving an error message and an attempt to install files for Professional Plus 2010.

    Curiously, in Programs and Settings it appears Professional Plus appeared same day as my Windows 10 upgrade, so not sure I even ever owned it.

    Office files do open but a pop up tries to find (and fails) ProPlusWW.msi which causes things to hang and its hard to close and very annoying.

    Help!
     
    SPENCER, Aug 24, 2015
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. SPENCER

    Trouble Noob Whisperer Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2013
    Messages:
    11,223
    Likes Received:
    1,752
    Location:
    Northwest Indiana U.S.A.
    Trouble, Aug 25, 2015
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. SPENCER

    John Lalanne

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2015
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    San Francisco
    Hi,
    I have a similar problem, with MS Office Pro Plus 2010 looking for "ProPlusWW.msi" each time I try launching Excel or PowerPoint. Methods 1 and 2 not solving anything. Disabled Think-Cell, the only plugin I use. No change either.
    Any other suggestion?
    Thanks for your help.
    Going back to Windows 7 if no fix.
     
    John Lalanne, Sep 1, 2015
    #3
  4. SPENCER

    ulloMattie

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2017
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    3
    I got the same problem: After Updating Windows 10 to the Fall Creators Update FCU Windows 10 ver.1709,
    my Outlook from Office 2010 Professional Plus would not start, but ask for some installer .msi file, that I don't have at hand right now. It asks for ProPlusRWw.msi C:\Windows\Installer\{91140000-0011-0000-0000-0000000FF1CE}

    I fixed the problem by downloading Office 2010 SP2 ( officesp2010-kb2687455-fullfile-x86-en-us.exe , 638 MB). You can run it directly, but it says, 'nothing to do' (I already had everything up to date). Instead, extract the contents fromt the .exe to a new folder (7-zip is your friend!). From there I executed the largest file officesuiteww-x-none.msp. It did not actually seem to install anything, but the installation was fixed afterwards.
     
    ulloMattie, Oct 21, 2017
    #4
    xXxXanderxXx, Javier B and Teflon like this.
  5. SPENCER

    Grizzly

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2016
    Messages:
    1,224
    Likes Received:
    305
    Location:
    North Carolina
    That installer file is usually here, at least it has been always on my installations:
    C:\MSOCache\All Users\{91140000-0011-0000-1000-0000000FF1CE}-C
    the folder MSOCache is usually hidden but not a system folder so its easy to unhide. at least the file ProPlusRWw.msi was in that directory on my computer. your results may vary regarding the path...
     
    Grizzly, Oct 21, 2017
    #5
    SigBay, Teflon and Trouble like this.
  6. SPENCER

    Bighorn

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2017
    Messages:
    851
    Likes Received:
    124
    My experience has been different, 2 new computers and trying to install Office 2010 Pro Plus keeps giving messages about the Product Key not being valid. Not connected to the 'net at the time and the verification error is coming from the install file/process.
     
    Bighorn, Oct 21, 2017
    #6
  7. SPENCER

    Teflon

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2015
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    1
    Thanks for this. I just had the exact same issue, and your fix worked like a charm. Much appreciated. :)
     
    Teflon, Dec 12, 2017
    #7
  8. SPENCER

    davehc

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2013
    Messages:
    3,578
    Likes Received:
    700
    Location:
    Denmark
    Not certain, but isn't it needed to be connected to verify a key?
    It is maybe not relevant, and possibly a new procedure, but, In office 2016, I am now asked, as an alternative, to put in my MS account, which reactivates it
     
    davehc, Dec 12, 2017
    #8
  9. SPENCER

    Bighorn

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2017
    Messages:
    851
    Likes Received:
    124
    It didn't make any difference, connected or not.
     
    Bighorn, Dec 12, 2017
    #9
  10. SPENCER

    Javier B

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2018
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thank you for ulloMattie. You are the best!!!
     
    Javier B, Jan 5, 2018
    #10
  11. SPENCER

    marilynwalton

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2018
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    I had exactly the same problem and this resolved my issues so thank you very much for your help
     
    marilynwalton, Jan 15, 2018
    #11
  12. SPENCER

    marilynwalton

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2018
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    I had exactly the same issues and this fix resolved my problems so thank you very much for your help
     
    marilynwalton, Jan 15, 2018
    #12
  13. SPENCER

    Keith Naylor

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2018
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Really sorry for my ignorance but at age 76 I'm new to computers! I can however follow this up to a point. I have found and downloaded the service pack. As you say if I run that it says everything is up to date and doing this fixes nothing. Where i get lost is when you say "extract the contents from the .exe to a new folder (7-zip is your friend!)" and then executing the largest file. If I hover over the downloaded file I get the option to extract (using winrar rather than 7-zip - i think). I did this and placed that in a new folder. when I opened that folder there is only one item - being an exact copy of what I originally down loaded. I cant see away to explore and open the largest fie which you identified. Please please help - this is driving me and my grandson crazy.
     
    Keith Naylor, Feb 1, 2018
    #13
  14. SPENCER

    xXxXanderxXx

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2018
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    I just registered to say thank you !!! You saved my day.
     
    xXxXanderxXx, Feb 8, 2018
    #14
  15. SPENCER

    SigBay

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2018
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0

    Thank you very much, i installed and de-installed 1709 ten times. and set back- becauce office 2010 would the msi-file, i didnĀ“t found.
     
    SigBay, Feb 16, 2018
    #15
  16. SPENCER

    Kazem AL-Maliki

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2018
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Dear Sir,
    I have registered just to replay you..
    You need to download the program 7-zip, compatible version to your windows (64bit or 32bit). Then you can extract the files (by using this program).
    Note: Winrar will not benefit you in this step...

    Best regards,
     
    Kazem AL-Maliki, Apr 15, 2018
    #16
  17. SPENCER

    Kazem AL-Maliki

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2018
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have faced almost the same problem, when I want to start the Outlook it gives me an error # 1706.
    I have tried many method sheared on the websites, but unfortunately, I failed. And finally I found the solution and it was so easy :-
    I just start the outlook as administrator and it just worked !!

    Regards,
     
    Kazem AL-Maliki, Apr 17, 2018
    #17
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.