Windows seems to have a schedule to shut down without my permission

Reaction score
I've been getting frustrated using my computer every Wednesday. No matter what time of day I turn my computer on for the first time during the course of the day (whether 7AM or 8PM), about 10 minutes after I have it on, it shuts down. Not like a random shut down, but like I've gone to the start menu and selected to shut down--except I haven't. It doesn't seem to matter what I'm doing or whether I'm online or not. I might be offline (without even a browser window open) and writing (I'm an author), I could be working with audio software (also a podcaster), or I might be writing a note in my browser to a fan or something else. It doesn't matter. I've noticed it's always 10 - 15 minutes after I turn it on for the first time on Wednesdays. I've never left it off all day Wednesday to see if this will happen on a Thursday, but I've talked to other authors and they've experienced the same thing, though on different days. (For some, it's Monday, some Thursday, some other days.)

This is *NOT* associated with any updates. This is definitely happening on a predictable schedule, yet I still forget about it because I'm not thinking about that when I'm replying to an e-mail or already in a zone when it comes to writing. I'd happily do a shut down on my own schedule if it let me, but it doesn't even warn me and ask if it's a good time. (Incredibly rude!) For updates, I have my active times from 8AM to 8PM, and it ignores this rule since I've sat down to work for the first time of the day at 10AM and it will do the shut down.

My laptop is nearly two years old, a Dell Inspiron 17 5000 series, and I can't recall it doing this until some updates in the autumn.

Any help appreciated.

Reaction score
Have you looked in the power profiles on how these settings are set? you may have it set to [power savings]. Open [settings] then click on [SYSTEM]. click on [power&sleep] and check your settings