Zip Drive?


Joined
Oct 11, 2018
Messages
6
Reaction score
0
BLAST FROM THE PAST!

I need to get some files stored on old Zip disks, and I still have an Internal Zip 100 drive, but there's no drive slot space nor IDE controller for it on my computer. So I bought a Kingwin EZ-Connect IDE/SATA to USB adaptor device. When I hook up my IDE Zip 100 drive to it, and connect the USB cable to my computer, I hear the Windows sound for USB device connect, but the drive does not show up in the File Explorer. I did test the same device with IDE and SATA hard drives, and they show up just fine in Windows 10. So shouldn't my Zip drive show up as well? What's going on?
 
Joined
Apr 22, 2017
Messages
2,519
Reaction score
281
disk manager.JPG
Hi elsongs,

plug the drive in your PC and then look in Computer Manager > Disk Management, you may need to load the drive partition (set it up first). :):):) DO NOT SELECT FORMAT THIS DRIVE. YOU WILL LOSE EVERYTHING ON IT!. ;););)
 
Ad

Advertisements

Joined
Oct 11, 2018
Messages
6
Reaction score
0
View attachment 9242 Hi elsongs,

plug the drive in your PC and then look in Computer Manager > Disk Management, you may need to load the drive partition (set it up first). :):):) DO NOT SELECT FORMAT THIS DRIVE. YOU WILL LOSE EVERYTHING ON IT!. ;););)

I've already tried that, it does not appear in Disk Management. When I connected the IDE hard drives into the same adaptor, they did appear. The Zip drive turns on and scans the disk on power-up, so it's unlikely it's defective.
 

Trouble

Noob Whisperer
Moderator
Joined
Nov 19, 2013
Messages
12,051
Reaction score
1,913
Does the adapter that you purchased come with a power supply connector.
It's possible that the Zip Drive may require external power.
 
Joined
Oct 11, 2018
Messages
6
Reaction score
0
Does the adapter that you purchased come with a power supply connector.
It's possible that the Zip Drive may require external power.
It has a power supply. It is connected. The Zip drive light is lit up and it scans the disk and make the high pitched sound.
 
Joined
Oct 11, 2018
Messages
6
Reaction score
0
Joined
Sep 26, 2017
Messages
1,336
Reaction score
219
I still have a WinXP with an Internal 250MB Zip drive [along with 5.25" & 3.5" floppy drives] but also have an External Iomega USB 250MB Zip drive for portablility [USB cable only]. I started with the Zip drive for parallel ports in the mid-'90s, not much use now with the parallel port seldom included on late model computers. I do find with both types the necessity of ejecting the disk before disconnecting the drive. The extra internal Zip drives I have salvaged and keep on the shelf are all 40-pin PATA with a jumper for Master or Slave.
 
Last edited:

Trouble

Noob Whisperer
Moderator
Joined
Nov 19, 2013
Messages
12,051
Reaction score
1,913
with a jumper for Master or Slave
That might be something worth experimenting with.
Remove it completely or switch between master and slave and see if that makes any difference.
 
Joined
Oct 11, 2018
Messages
6
Reaction score
0
That might be something worth experimenting with.
Remove it completely or switch between master and slave and see if that makes any difference.
Yup, tried Master, Slave and Cable Select. Neither would be recognized.
 
Joined
Apr 22, 2017
Messages
2,519
Reaction score
281
Try taking out the Master/Slave jumper on the drive and connecting it to the PC via the adapter cable?. ;)
 
Ad

Advertisements

Joined
Oct 13, 2015
Messages
330
Reaction score
46
If I'm not mistaken my old Iomega zip drive that I haven't used in years needed seperate drivers for Windows to see and use it. I could be wrong. But I do seem to remember the light on the drive coming on but Windows XP would not see the drive until drivers were installed. I do know that a lot of those IDE to SATA adapters also need a driver from the manufacturer's website. I used to help a friend with his all the time and it was always such a hassle trying to find the right driver. The Chinese website was horrible.
 
Joined
Sep 26, 2017
Messages
1,336
Reaction score
219
My parallel-port 100MB model did come with an install floppy but then that was back with MS-DOS 5 and Win3.1 running on top of it. I now have a 250MB model in a WinXP computer.
 
Joined
Apr 22, 2017
Messages
2,519
Reaction score
281
That might be something worth experimenting with.
Remove it completely or switch between master and slave and see if that makes any difference.
Oops, sorry @Trouble , I didn't even notice your post, you can delete mine if you wish!. :(
 
Joined
Oct 11, 2018
Messages
6
Reaction score
0
If I'm not mistaken my old Iomega zip drive that I haven't used in years needed seperate drivers for Windows to see and use it. I could be wrong. But I do seem to remember the light on the drive coming on but Windows XP would not see the drive until drivers were installed. I do know that a lot of those IDE to SATA adapters also need a driver from the manufacturer's website. I used to help a friend with his all the time and it was always such a hassle trying to find the right driver. The Chinese website was horrible.
I did hook up an old IDE 20GB HD to the same adaptor and it recognized the drive without needing drivers.

I found a site with 64bit Iomega drivers, but the filename referenced AMD processors, whereas I use an Intel i7. Would that make a difference?
 
Joined
Sep 26, 2017
Messages
1,336
Reaction score
219
It should ma
I did hook up an old IDE 20GB HD to the same adaptor and it recognized the drive without needing drivers.

I found a site with 64bit Iomega drivers, but the filename referenced AMD processors, whereas I use an Intel i7. Would that make a difference?
It shouldn't make a difference, a lot of things reference AMD processors with the 64-bit versions.
 

Trouble

Noob Whisperer
Moderator
Joined
Nov 19, 2013
Messages
12,051
Reaction score
1,913
Often you will see the AMD designation to differentiate normal 64 bit drivers from IA based processors (Itanium).
 
Joined
Sep 26, 2017
Messages
1,336
Reaction score
219
Yep, IA is an Intel version of 64-bit [before AMD version] and as far as I can remember best used with powerful Servers and multiple CPUs [like their Zeon] on the motherboard.
 
Ad

Advertisements

Trouble

Noob Whisperer
Moderator
Joined
Nov 19, 2013
Messages
12,051
Reaction score
1,913
Figured you were spelling it phonetically, however.....
I think most if not all Xeon processors were RISC based processors (Reduced Instruction Set Computing) using x86 instruction set.
Itanium processors were developed using EPIC based processors (Explicitly Parallel Instruction Computing) using "Itanium" instruction set.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Itanium
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Xeon
 

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments. After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.

Ask a Question

Top