2 Harddrives not working but 3rd is


Joined
Apr 16, 2016
Messages
6
Reaction score
0
Hello.
I brought a 4 bay external harddrive enclosure and have it hooked up to my laptop ( I will get a computer one day)
The issue I have is this.
Bay 2 3 and 4 no issues. I have 5 external harddrives.
2 x 2tb
2 x 1 tb a
nd 1x 4tb
4 of these drives I wish to keep in the enclosure and 1 as a spare. (the 1 tb one).


The issue is this and sorry if this doesnt make sense. I have tried 3 of my harddrive lets name them A B C.
If I place hdd A or B into bay 1 it shows up as Local Disk and you click on it and nothing happens and then the comp makes the sound as if i had pulled the usb out.

If I plave A and B into the other bay no problem they work fine.

If I place a different hdd into Bay 1 for example hdd C or the spare then it shows up no problem.

Is there anything I can do as I would love for hdd A and B to work as one of them is the 2tb one.
Thank you


EDIT - Now when I put hdd A in Bay 1 it wont even appear. hdd B still just says local disk

If i try to open it, it sometimes says not accessible the paramter is incorrect
 
Last edited:
Ad

Advertisements

Regedit32

Moderator
Joined
Mar 4, 2016
Messages
3,620
Reaction score
1,124
Hi bootstinu12,

What cable is connecting the external drive not being detected to the laptop?

It sounds like the drive is not getting enough power to be detected. In that event you probably need a Y-split cable and connect both USB connectors to the laptop to add some more juice per se.

So far as the enclosure goes are we talking Seagate, Maxtor, or some other product?

As for the laptop itself are we talking USB 2.0 or 3,0?

If its 2.0 you may need an adapter between the connections.

Regards,

Regedit32
 
Last edited:

bassfisher6522

Moderator
Joined
Sep 22, 2014
Messages
1,451
Reaction score
216
What's the make/model of enclosure? Is there any HDD specialty requirements for enclosure.....meaning - do they all have to be the same brand/size? Is this a RAID setup?
 
Joined
Apr 16, 2016
Messages
6
Reaction score
0
What's the make/model of enclosure? Is there any HDD specialty requirements for enclosure.....meaning - do they all have to be the same brand/size? Is this a RAID setup?
Brand is orico, dont believe any requirements and they use to work until the computer froze one day.
I have no idea what a Raid setup is sorry
 
Joined
Apr 16, 2016
Messages
6
Reaction score
0
Hi bootstinu12,

What cable is connecting the external drive not being detected to the laptop?

It sounds like the drive is not getting enough power to be detected. In that event you probably need a Y-split cable and connect both USB connectors to the laptop to add some more juice per se.

So far as the enclosure goes are we talking Seagate, Maxtor, or some other product?

As for the laptop itself are we talking USB 2.0 or 3,0?

If its 2.0 you may need an adapter between the connections.

Regards,

Regedit32
Its a usb cable connecting the enclosure to the laptop. it was in the 3.0 usb but i changed it to the 2.0 usb as i think the 3.0 one is faulty (keeps finding things then not).
Enclosure is orico. The enclosure is externally powered
 
Last edited:
Ad

Advertisements

Joined
Oct 1, 2014
Messages
2,334
Reaction score
358
I suppose when we get a model number we will be able to see if the 4 TB drive might be causing a problem...

Your description of drive a or b needs to be a little more specific if you feel specific drives might be involved.
 

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments. After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.

Ask a Question

Top