Automatically generated passwords

SOLVED Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by jrj350, Jun 7, 2018.

  1. jrj350

    jrj350

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2015
    Messages:
    124
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    Beer Sheva, Israel
    I do not like the automatic password generated when I am signing up to a new site.
    I cannot find out what is generating those new passwords and I don't know what app is doing it.
    Any help here?
     
    jrj350, Jun 7, 2018
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. jrj350

    Ian Administrator

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2013
    Messages:
    1,455
    Likes Received:
    482
    Can you please post a sceenshot of what this looks like when it happens please? Also, which browser are you using?
     
    Ian, Jun 8, 2018
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. jrj350

    jrj350

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2015
    Messages:
    124
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    Beer Sheva, Israel
    Capture.PNG Firefox - latest
    Here is a snap of what I am talking about.
     
    jrj350, Jun 9, 2018
    #3
  4. jrj350

    bassfisher6522 Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2014
    Messages:
    1,191
    Likes Received:
    171
    That's a first for me...I've never seen that before. My guess would be a Firefox setting somewhere. But as I use Firefox.....I don't see it.

    You might want to check your system for malware/spyware/adware/trojans/worms and every other nasty bug out there. Then reset every browser you have to default settings or uninstall and reinstall said browsers.
     
    bassfisher6522, Jun 9, 2018
    #4
  5. jrj350

    Ian Administrator

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2013
    Messages:
    1,455
    Likes Received:
    482
    I don't recognise that password generator. Can you please press CTRL+Shift+A within Firefox and this will load the add-ons manager.

    Can you then please check the extension and plugins and see if any of them are password managers. You can post a screenshot of both lists if you'd like, and I'll double check.
     
    Ian, Jun 10, 2018
    #5
  6. jrj350

    Norton

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2016
    Messages:
    2,822
    Likes Received:
    619
    I run FF and have never seen that before. I just attempted to create a Google account and it still requests a strong user password?
     
    Norton, Jun 10, 2018
    #6
  7. jrj350

    jrj350

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2015
    Messages:
    124
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    Beer Sheva, Israel
    The add-ons are all known to me. Nothing there relative to passwords.
    I have run ani-virus checks multiple times with no indications of el crappo showing up.
     
    jrj350, Jun 11, 2018
    #7
  8. jrj350

    bassfisher6522 Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2014
    Messages:
    1,191
    Likes Received:
    171
    Running just a AV will not find everything. You need to run Malwarebytes, Ccleaner, SuperAntispyware and there are a few others out there.
     
    bassfisher6522, Jun 11, 2018
    #8
  9. jrj350

    Norton

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2016
    Messages:
    2,822
    Likes Received:
    619
    Don't forget Malwarebytes Adwcleaner.
     
    Norton, Jun 11, 2018
    #9
    bassfisher6522 likes this.
  10. jrj350

    bassfisher6522 Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2014
    Messages:
    1,191
    Likes Received:
    171
    Yes.....and it has a new look. Now it looks just like Malwarbytes.
     
    bassfisher6522, Jun 11, 2018
    #10
  11. jrj350

    jrj350

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2015
    Messages:
    124
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    Beer Sheva, Israel
    This problem is solved. The culprit is my Avast anti-virus app. And as of this writing, the user has no choice in the matter. He cannot turn the damn thing off. Because the Avast people think it is a good thing.
    Thanks everybody for the replies.
     
    jrj350, Jun 12, 2018
    #11
  12. jrj350

    Norton

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2016
    Messages:
    2,822
    Likes Received:
    619
    That's great! Now Avast knows were you visit and have a password. o_O
     
    Norton, Jun 12, 2018
    #12
  13. jrj350

    ram1220

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2015
    Messages:
    323
    Likes Received:
    45
    Avast has been tracking people for a few years now. It's one of the reasons I stopped using it. I no longer recommend it to my customers.
     
    ram1220, Jun 14, 2018
    #13
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.