Black screen and single flashing cursor

Reaction score
Good morning all. I have downloaded and successful installed Windows 10 on one of my two computers. When I downloaded to second computer it hung on the installation re-boot. Now machine will only display BIOS splash screen and then shows a black screen with a single fast flashing cursor.

I tried putting the original Windows 7 install disk in the DVD but could not boot that way either. Any assistance greatly appreciated. I can not get in contact with Windows support in Australia and have not been able to find an email address.

Thanks.

Trouble

Noob Whisperer
Reaction score
Reaction score
Thank you so much for your answer. What you suggest is something I have never done before. I do have one computer operational on Windows 10 and the second computer is as I described. I do not have a DVD of Windows 10 but I did try to recover the computer with the original Windows 7 install disk.

I was unable to reinstall Windows on any of the four disks on the faulty computer. Every time I tried I got a message that said the disk format was wrong. There probably is no way I can obtain installation media from the working computer. Is it available for download any where.

Thanks again for your assistance. I shall now study the links you kindly gave me.

Reaction score
I followed your links, thank you and am now downloading Windows 10. I will report back.

Trouble

Noob Whisperer
Reaction score
Good luck.
Use it to boot the computer and attempt some of the repair / advanced troubleshooting options.

Reaction score
It is starting to look more and more as though the BIOS on my Gigabyte GA-X99-UD4 MB has crashed. At least it is still covered by warranty.

Again, many thanks for your help.

Trouble

Noob Whisperer
Reaction score
It is starting to look more and more as though the BIOS on my Gigabyte GA-X99-UD4 MB has crashed.
I suppose that, that is a possibility but I would think, probably rare.