Can not access Network drive private folder.


Joined
Jun 5, 2020
Messages
9
Reaction score
0
Hello,

I have just built a new desktop PC and installed Windows 10 Pro.

I have a Seagate 3TByte NAS on my network which has just one account on it.

Whilst I can access the public folder from my new PC, I can't access the private one. I enter the user name and password but get a message saying it is not accessible - see attached image.

I have no problems accessing this folder on 4 other computers:-
1. A desktop with Windows 7 Pro.
2. A laptop with Windows 7 Home.
3. A laptop with Windows 10 Pro (upgraded from Windows 7 Pro).
4. My works laptop with Windows 7 Pro.

In all 4 cases above I just enter the user name and password and get in with no problems.

Being very new to Windows 10 I assume that there is something that needs setting in my new PC, but have no idea where to start.

Any assistance with this issue would be most appreciated.

Regards,

Nick.

No Access.jpg
 
Ad

Advertisements

Joined
Apr 22, 2017
Messages
4,331
Reaction score
565
Hi Nick,

have you checked that the settings on the other working PC's show the same on the one that won't work?. :)
 
Joined
Jun 5, 2020
Messages
9
Reaction score
0
Hello,

Thanks for reply, but I don't know what settings to look at. I never had to change anything on the 4 working computers to access the private folder - just enter the user nmae and password when prompted and I was in OK.

Only just started using Windows 10 and struggling to find my way around it. When I installed it I used a USB stick and set most of the privacy settings to on - maybe something there is causing it, but I have no idea where to look or what to adjust.

Nick.
 
Joined
Nov 19, 2013
Messages
5,460
Reaction score
1,112
Have you looked at this setting in the "lost" computer:

It's in Settings - network and internet - Advanced network settings. - Network and sharing Centre.
Then, over on the left "Change Advanced sharing settings"
Select "All Networks" and, at the bottom,
"Turn off password protected sharing."
 
Joined
Jan 27, 2016
Messages
792
Reaction score
78
seems by what he posted is someone is already on the account. disconnect the other users from then you can access,
I also had that issue then found one system failed to disconnect.
 
Ad

Advertisements

Joined
Jun 5, 2020
Messages
9
Reaction score
0
I thought it could be that, but still get the problem if other computers are off.

Thing is, I can access the private folder on the other 4 computers at the same time.

Now thinking it may be something to do with mapping the drive. I get an error message when I attempt to map the drive saying it is currently mapped.

However, net use shows there are no entries in the list - see attached image.

Mapping Error.jpg
 
Joined
Apr 22, 2017
Messages
4,331
Reaction score
565
Mapping Error.jpg

Hi Nick,

in your pic, there is a complaint about user passwords, that might be where your problem lies?. :confused:
 
Joined
Jun 5, 2020
Messages
9
Reaction score
0
Hello Wolfie,

It does indeed say it is mapped with a different username and password and I should disconnect existing mappings. However, if you look at the command "net use" below there are no entries in the list to disconnect.

Nick.
 
Joined
Apr 22, 2017
Messages
4,331
Reaction score
565
Hi Nick,

it might be a character error, your name written in upper case when it should be lower case (as an example), spaces between user names and things like that can throw the system off!. I don't really have much of an answer about networking sorry. :)
 
Joined
Jun 5, 2020
Messages
9
Reaction score
0
Hi,

Not typed incorrect - if I remember correctly there is a message if you type in the incorrect password.

To me it looks like it's spmething to do with mapping as it says it is currently mapped using a different username and password, but there is nothing in the list.

Don't know where it's come from or how to remove it.
 
Ad

Advertisements

Joined
Apr 22, 2017
Messages
4,331
Reaction score
565
Hi Nick,

how many accounts on the computer do you have?, if you have accounts you don't use, try removing them and see what happens afterwards. :)
 
Joined
Jun 5, 2020
Messages
9
Reaction score
0
Just one account - it's a new build - not bothered adding any more accounts.
 
Joined
Apr 22, 2017
Messages
4,331
Reaction score
565
it is currently mapped using a different username and password
Hi Nick,

are you logged in using your MS account?, if you are, it might be worth your while to check out your MS account settings and see what computers are connected to the account, the blockage might be there?. :)
 
Joined
Jun 5, 2020
Messages
9
Reaction score
0
I don't have a microsoft accont on that computer - it's logged in with a local account. All computers, including the work one, are used with local accounts. Works OK on them, so does not look like that is the problem.

I suspect the problem may be solved if I can cure the mapping issue.
 
Ad

Advertisements

Joined
Jun 5, 2020
Messages
9
Reaction score
0
Tried that. It just gives the same results as the top image of this thread.
 

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments. After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.

Ask a Question

Top