SOLVED Cannot get Microsoft Edge working


Joined
Sep 14, 2016
Messages
57
Reaction score
6
After a day of trouble-shooting, trying many suggestions including most recently those here
https://www.drivereasy.com/knowledge/microsoft-edge-wont-open-on-windows-10-solved/#b
I still cannot get Microsoft Edge working.

It comes up for about 10 seconds, displaying an incomplete message and then closes:
https://www.dropbox.com/s/i4cwdywfvu3llfh/NoEdge-2.jpg?raw=1

I tried Settings > Apps > Apps & Features > Microsoft Edge. 'Repair' gets a promising checkmark, but trying to open Edge fails and the icon vanishes from the taskbar. 'Reset' doesn't get it back. Using the PS command in Admin mode

Get-AppXPackage -AllUsers | Foreach {Add-AppxPackage -DisableDevelopmentMode -Register "$($_.InstallLocation)\AppXManifest.xml"}

restores the icon and the original incorrect behaviour.

I don't like or use Edge. But as it's an integral Win 10 component, used for example to deliver 'Help and Support', and I'm sure lots of other stuff, I'm keen to get it working. Anyone had similar problems and/or knows of other steps I can try please?


Terry, East Grinstead, UK
 
Ad

Advertisements

Joined
Nov 19, 2013
Messages
4,775
Reaction score
928
Not sure if it makes any difference, but the command I have in my help Dbase, reads with the tag at the end "Verbose"
Get-AppXPackage -AllUsers -Name Microsoft.MicrosoftEdge | Foreach {Add-AppxPackage -DisableDevelopmentMode -Register "$($_.InstallLocation)\AppXManifest.xml" -Verbose}
 
Joined
Nov 19, 2013
Messages
4,775
Reaction score
928
I have used Edge, as my default, through all the Windows 10 releases, without problems. I don't think the build version is the problem here.
 
Joined
Apr 22, 2017
Messages
2,887
Reaction score
346
He could be using version 1073 for all we know which may be related to the problem?. ;););)
 
Joined
Nov 19, 2013
Messages
4,775
Reaction score
928
My increasingly poor memory doesn't stretch back that far, but, as said, I dont recall ever having problems with Edge.
 
Ad

Advertisements

Joined
Sep 14, 2016
Messages
57
Reaction score
6
Thanks for all replies so far; good to have others on the case. Conscious of investing far too much time on a relatively trivial problem (at least for a Firefox/Waterfox user), but hate unsolved puzzles.

This is Win 10 Pro 1803 (OS Build 17134.376).

I've used that PS command with and without the 'verbose' element. I think it just affects the number of red messages (obscure to me) that appear before it concludes.

I've been examining Event errors that occur by the score/hundred when I try to run Edge. Later today I'll post more details in case it offers clues to the experts here.
 
Joined
Nov 19, 2013
Messages
4,775
Reaction score
928
What about, instead of repair, in the same section reset?
 
Joined
Sep 14, 2016
Messages
57
Reaction score
6
Tried that Dave. From my original post:
'Reset' doesn't get it back
 
Joined
Sep 14, 2016
Messages
57
Reaction score
6
SUCCESS! So satisfying when a couple of days' forensics ends up with an elegant fix ;-)

This came from a post by KJSTech1 Thursday, September 28, 2017 7:31 PM
https://social.technet.microsoft.com/Forums/en-US/f4c6fd9e-f44d-43e8-9527-1b8b93725f93/microsoft-edge-crashes-after-upgrading-to-creator-update-1703
reporting a solution found by rafaeljsc.

Summarising, you perform the now familiar PowerShell reset of Microsoft Edge

Get-AppXPackage -AllUsers -Name Microsoft.MicrosoftEdge | Foreach {Add-AppxPackage -DisableDevelopmentMode -Register “$($_.InstallLocation)\AppXManifest.xml” -Verbose}

But the crucial step for me and others was to add a new Registry key, using this elevated command prompt:
reg add "HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Spartan" /v RAC_LaunchFlags /t REG_DWORD /d 1 /f
 
Joined
Apr 22, 2017
Messages
2,887
Reaction score
346
Good to hear it Terry, please mark the thread as solved so it helps others!. :):):)
 
Ad

Advertisements

Joined
Nov 19, 2013
Messages
4,775
Reaction score
928
RIP Terry.
As a result of your success, I browsed for this fix.
It seems that it is a problem created from a left over security function in a previous build.
I have, from time to time, made fresh installs, so possibly avoided it.
Basically, the solution seems to have been to totally delete the Edge App entry, before applying any fixes.
fwiw. I dont have that entry in my registry.
 
Last edited:
Ad

Advertisements

Joined
Sep 14, 2016
Messages
57
Reaction score
6
Thanks Dave. It was indeed an obscure issue! I too did not have that registry entry, but as soon as I'd added it the problem vanished as fast as stickng a pin in a soap bubble.
 

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments. After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.

Ask a Question

Top