Computer refuses to boot up

Reaction score
HELP
Have just bought a new computer (Acer E1 572 with I7-4500U processor, running Windows 8.1). Tried to download Windows 10 and at the end of the process the computer shut down and now refuses to restart. When I press the start button the small blue light on the front of the computer flashes 5 times - and that's it. I am not very technically savvy (understatement) and if I had made even a quick glance at this forum and realised that there were so many problems with Windows 10 I would have stayed with Windows 8.1, at least untiI most of the initial bugs were taken care of. What can I do to get my shiny new computer back and running on Windows 8.1?

Thanks in advance

Trouble

Noob Whisperer
Reaction score
The first thing you might try is.....
Turn it off (hold the power button and count to 10)
Unplug it from AC Power
Flip it over and remove the battery
Flip it back over and press and hold the power button again for a count of 30
Replace the battery
Reconnect the AC Power
Press the power button.
What happens?
Do you see anything on the screen at all?

Reaction score
You might check the OEM and see if 5 flashes mean anything for your system. Maybe it is something like a beep code.

The Windows 10 install takes around 45 minutes after the download is complete. It may be longer if you have a lot of data. Hopefully, there was plenty of empty space on your Drive to hold the archived files and install image.

Reaction score