Computer turns on but monitor is black

Reaction score
Hello. I am not experienced when it comes to computers so i am coming here as a complete novice. I was on my computer earlier when all of the sudden my screen turned black. I waited a second but still nothing. I restarted my computer and while the computer itself turned on the monitor stayed black, showing no signs of life. Of course i immediately checked to see if the monitor was plugged in, and it was, so i am not quite sure what is causing this issue. I just bought some computer duster so im going to open it up and dust it out but i dont think its a hardware issue. I think windows might be to blame.
Ok so as i was writing this windows screen popped up saying windows 10 couldnt boot up so i elected to reset pc. Please someone help me :(

Reaction score
Hi,

Please provide your PC manufacture and product number.

Please provide the factory installed operating system.

Jaco

Trouble

Noob Whisperer
Reaction score
My pc is a custom made pc and the original OS was windows 7
OK, so.....
Maybe you could list your
Motherboard Manufacturer, Motherboard Model Number, Motherboard Revision Number, Motherboard BIOS version you are currently running.
any
Add-on cards, Video, Audio, Network, etc.,
any
Installed / attached peripheral devices, USB dongles, printers, external drives, etc.

Reaction score
Yea I am at work but once I get home I can do that. I know have a R9 200 series graphics card and an asus motherboard. I have an AMD processor I just don't know the specific model. Will update at 5:00pm

Trouble

Noob Whisperer
Reaction score
In the mean time you might want to obtain the latest Windows 10 ISO
https://www.microsoft.com/en-us/sof...459594)(TnL5HPStwNw-WaTVja5C7z2Vs7q82apCPg)()
Choose Windows 10, the first item in the first drop down (not single language at the bottom) * see note at bottom.