Devices under control of stornvme timeout and after reset don't recover

Reaction score
I am running 3 Plextor NVMe M8Pe(Y) 4X devices 1TB in size configured as one volume using spanned devices. I am trying to offload the device to a rotating storage device. It runs anywhere from 1 hour to 6 hours and then I get stornvme into the picture to reset the device and at that point it drops out. One of the devices are installed on the root bus and the other two are on a port with a bridge. It almost looks like stornvme is resetting the bus to shut down the I/O operations and whacking the other device on the bridge but not restoring the configuration space for that one. It takes a reboot of the workstation system to get the device back on line again.
Is anyone familiar with the operation of stornvme that could explain what it is doing? I have a lot of experience with PCIe Reset from dealing with it on Linux systems in my former job and it looks like a clear is being done at the wrong level of the Bus layers and the config is not being restored properly. I have also seen some "Surprise down" errors reported in the event log which means that a device was taken off the bus without the proper suppress bits for power loss errors due to MC control functions.

Thank you in advance.

Reaction score
Well, I am not really familiar with what you are stating you are trying to do, so maybe a couple of questions and clarifications.

You are using 3 PCIe M.2 drives in a RAID configuration or storage spaces? You are running one of the drives as PCIe and the other two as SATA?

I don't know of many systems which have three M.2 slots, so is the "Rotating" device and external NAS of some type? Does the "Rotating" device have a model number?

If you are using a Windows NVMe driver, does Plextor have its own driver for the device/s?

Reaction score
Well, I am not really familiar with what you are stating you are trying to do, so maybe a couple of questions and clarifications.