SOLVED How Change Drive Letters for Windows 10 "Local Disk" assignments?


Joined
Jan 10, 2016
Messages
8
Reaction score
0
Win 10 has assigned drive letters I:\, J:\, & N:\ to something called "Local Disks".
The problems is that my backup program, Acronis, wants drive J:\ since that is where I stored backups on my old computer.
I know how to normally use "Managed Disks" to change drive letters but I, J & N do not show up????
 
Ad

Advertisements

Joined
Oct 1, 2014
Messages
2,334
Reaction score
358
A picture of your Disk Management window might help, but do you have any card readers or some other device which might be taking those letters?
 
Joined
May 6, 2015
Messages
2,662
Reaction score
443
A multi card reader is the most likely thing. My PC has one and those drive letters are assigned.

The individual 'drives' should show up in device manager and you should be able to disable them.
 

Trouble

Noob Whisperer
Moderator
Joined
Nov 19, 2013
Messages
13,178
Reaction score
2,255
Acronis, wants drive J:\ since that is where I stored backups on my old computer.
OR ....
You could just go into Acronis and edit the backup to point to a different backup location.
 
Joined
Jan 10, 2016
Messages
8
Reaction score
0
Thank you all for providing assistance.
I found that the problem is that when HP assembled the Laptop, they evidently assigned drive letters I:, J:, N for two recovery partitions (SDD & HDD) & an EFI partition. I am working with them to see what can be done.
Also, Acronis, my backup software, apparently does not have a way to reassign drive letters, but I am working with them, even though thou they want to charge me $20, to see if they have another solution.
 

Trouble

Noob Whisperer
Moderator
Joined
Nov 19, 2013
Messages
13,178
Reaction score
2,255
Which version of Acronis True Image are you using?
As far as I know, every edition should allow you to edit a backup to redirect the destination location to a location of your choosing.
 
Ad

Advertisements

Trouble

Noob Whisperer
Moderator
Joined
Nov 19, 2013
Messages
13,178
Reaction score
2,255
IF you've configured a backup already, select that backup in the left column and then in the main pane of the windows click the destination side of the arrow. That should allow you to browse to a new location / drive letter / folder.
 
Joined
Jan 10, 2016
Messages
8
Reaction score
0
Trouble, you saved me. Thank you. Thank you. I don't know why Acronis did not have that in their Knowledge Base or User Manual. I guess it is just too obvious.
 
Ad

Advertisements

Trouble

Noob Whisperer
Moderator
Joined
Nov 19, 2013
Messages
13,178
Reaction score
2,255
Long time user of Acronis so I've had to learn my way around the interface.
Not too fond of versions 2015 and 2016. I'm holding my personal machine at 2014 but have 2015 on my wife's computer and 2016 on my spare computer where I run the insider preview builds of Windows 10.
 
Ad

Advertisements


Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments. After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.

Ask a Question

Top