How to print to dynamic IP printer


Joined
Oct 31, 2020
Messages
2
Reaction score
0
I have a window 10 PC , it use wired network to connect internet , the IP address is 10.117.32.31

I have a router , the internet IP is 10.117.32.32 , I also have a printer attached this router , the printer dynamic IP is 192.168.1.110

Now If I want the above PC ( IP address : 10.117.32.31 ) can print to this printer , how to config it ?

thanks a lot .
 
Ad

Advertisements

Joined
Oct 31, 2020
Messages
2
Reaction score
0
I have a window 10 PC , it use wired network to connect internet , the IP address is 10.117.32.31

I have a router , the internet IP is 10.117.32.32 , I also have a printer attached this router , the printer dynamic IP is 192.168.1.110

Now If I want the above PC ( IP address : 10.117.32.31 ) can print to this printer , how to config it ?

thanks a lot .
 
Joined
May 6, 2015
Messages
2,610
Reaction score
433
Why is your printer on a different network from your PC.

Normally your ISP assigns an IP address, one that is routable. But not always...depends on the ISP and how the ISP connects to the internet world.
If I recall correctly 10.xxx.xxx.xxx is non -routable.
Your Router takes that address and translates it into a non-routable address on your home network , usually the default on home routers would be 192.168.xxx.xxx with the router itself as 192.168.1.1 or 192.168.100.1
The router then uses DHCP to assign addresses on your home network in a range of say 192.168.1, 2 to 192.168.1.254
and I would expect your PC to have an address like that and also your printer.

If you do ipconfig /all in a command prompt and post the answers that will help.
 
Joined
Oct 26, 2016
Messages
1,955
Reaction score
574
the IP 10.xxx.xxx.xxx is usually used when one has TWO routers in series, kind of a subnet to the subnet (192.xxx.xxx.xxx). However, those networks are non accessible from either side (10.xxx to 192.xxx and the other way around). I have tried it once.
 
Joined
May 6, 2015
Messages
2,610
Reaction score
433
I am wondering that the ISP IP addr is 10. If so I suspect that their whole ISP system is just one big private non-routable network. What used to be called a Class A. But as you say Grizzly that suggests double NATing somewhere.

So If that is the case I'd alter the printer IP to somewhere in his allocated 10.117.32.xxx


If I found myself on something like that I'd be looking for and asking the ISP for an IPV6 prefix.

Patrick, who is your ISP and where are you in the world?
 
Ad

Advertisements

Joined
Sep 26, 2017
Messages
2,324
Reaction score
455
Not knowing the make and model of the printer doesn't help in formulating a possible solution so will say what I have. I have a Wireless 4-port Router and 8-port Switch for my internal Network [ISP Modem is separate but connected to the Uplink port] with 6 desktops, 2 NAS drives and 2 Printers, HP LaserJet and HP OfficeJet, all connected by Ethernet cable. When I installed the 2 printers I chose Network and let the software pick the address, my Router [not ISP] has a base IP address of 192.168.1.1 and all ethernet-connected devices change only the last number. I can also install the same software on any Wireless/Wi-Fi computers to get print access.
 
Ad

Advertisements

Joined
May 6, 2015
Messages
2,610
Reaction score
433
My stuff is much the same but I only have one printer. My printer ( Canon) is wireless just because of positioning...did not want another cable around the room.

If Patrick's printer is on ethernet then just an IP address change. If it is on USB, should need no changes and if it is wireless he will need to configure it ( preferably not by WPS) and Windows should see it.
 

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments. After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.

Ask a Question

Top