Installing Windows 10 Pro on an ASUS laptop


Joined
Feb 5, 2018
Messages
12
Reaction score
2
I got a ASUS - Gaming Laptop - 15.6" 120 Hz IPS-type - AMD Ryzen 7 3750H (up to 4.0 GHz) - NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1650 - 8 GB RAM - 512 GB SSD - Gigabit Wi-Fi 5 - Windows 10 Home - TUF (FX505DT-EB73) from my step-son and want to Install Windows 10 Pro on it instead I have all my other system with pro on them and m very comfortable wit it. I do not play games but want to use the laptop for my normal day to day computing and finances and use the Office 265 software. Anyone have any ideas on this?
 
Ad

Advertisements

Joined
Oct 2, 2014
Messages
1,397
Reaction score
288
If you're not going to encrypt your hard drive, and don't need the group policy editor, then there isn't much reason to upgrade to pro.
 
Joined
Nov 19, 2013
Messages
5,256
Reaction score
1,058
Pretty much as BiFeet says. A few more little items you can consider though. Frankly, if the extra cost is not a consideration, I would say "Why not".
Have a look at the table here:
 
Joined
Jun 9, 2017
Messages
531
Reaction score
111
Yes just log into Microsoft Store using your MS account and purchase the upgrade. This will set up your notebook to activate the upgrade to Pro. I have Pro on all my computers the Gpedit feature alone is worth the cost for me.
You need Pro version to block driver updates from Windows 10 updates. With your Asus notebook, you do want to block driver updates
 
Last edited:
Joined
Feb 5, 2018
Messages
12
Reaction score
2
Thanks everyone after doing some research I found that I can install t. I am a die hard Intel guy all the way from Windows 3.1. Dos, Basic, and IBM Personal PC and IBM 3270 days on a Novel server.:rolleyes: Yep I am older than dirt. That was the days of jumper, dip switches ns special cables. Think I will just try it for while as is and decide after I see how it performs. Just wanted to get it from my stepson so he can build his tricked out desktop for games. Me I don't do games but thought I would like to check out the AMD processors. Stay safe and healthy everyone and thanks again.
 
Ad

Advertisements

Joined
Sep 26, 2017
Messages
2,033
Reaction score
359
Me I don't do games but thought I would like to check out the AMD processors.
My first computer in '92 was an AMD 80386/40MHz, 120MB HDD, 4MB RAM and running MS-DOS 5 with the Win3.1 GUI. Couple years later I was building 80486 machines in a shop. I usually run AMD CPUs, have 3 online now but have rehabbed some otherwise junk Intel machines, have both brand CPUs in Desktops and Notebooks.
 

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments. After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.

Ask a Question

Top