SOLVED Intel(R)82579LM

Reaction score
I use a desktop connected via Ethernet. When I start the computer I get the message 'Intel(R)82579LM Gigabit Network Connection adapter is experiencing driver-or hardware-related problems'. I find that if I then click on 'restart' the computer does indeed restart, I sign in and the connection is fine. I think I have both 82579LM and 82579V installed - though 82579LM may have just been uninstalled by a friend trying to help. The problem remains. I upgraded to Windows 10 3 weeks ago.
I'm not very technical so not too much jargon please!
thanks

Trouble

Noob Whisperer
Reaction score
Both those boards use the exact same driver.
Maybe start by acquiring the latest one from here https://downloadcenter.intel.com/download/25769/Network-Adapter-Driver-for-Windows-10?product=47549
In accordance with your system architecture (32 or 64 bit).
As you can see by reading the section labeled
"This download is valid for the product(s) listed below." It covers an array of different intel based network adapters.

NOTE: These are Generic Intel driver packages and will generally work in most instances, however there are some cases where the driver is better obtained through the computer manufacturer (in the case of laptops) or the motherboard manufacturer (in the case of onboard integrated devices), sometimes the OEM makes them a little proprietary.

Reaction score
I had a system once with the LM and Windows kept trying to identify it as a V. This was a couple of years ago so possibly those driver problems have been resolved .

If you can see the motherboard, you might be able to tell for sure which version you have if your Owners Manual does not say. As trouble mentions, the newer drivers should pick up the chip correctly.

Reaction score
Both those boards use the exact same driver.
Maybe start by acquiring the latest one from here https://downloadcenter.intel.com/download/25769/Network-Adapter-Driver-for-Windows-10?product=47549