SOLVED Need to initialize a drive as GPT


Joined
Oct 26, 2016
Messages
1,912
Reaction score
561
Need to initialize a drive as GPT

Here is my situation: I purchased a 4TB drive to act as a backup drive for my ISO's. Windows told me at first use it needed to be initialized. Unfortunately I click on MBR instead of GPT. No I have the dilemma that I have two partitions, one at 2TB and the other with the rest. However I need it to be a whole partition of said 4TB (actually 3,6TB). The drive does not have any data on it.
How can I change that??

None of my partitioning programs can do that, neither under Windows nor via WinPE (Hirens BootCD).
 
Ad

Advertisements

Joined
Apr 22, 2017
Messages
4,323
Reaction score
564
Hi Grizzly,

have you tried GParted (Linux based OS running Gnome partition editor):


You can run it in Live Mode (I think it is Ubuntu or Debian based?). :)
 
Joined
Oct 26, 2016
Messages
1,912
Reaction score
561
gonna try it. currently trying to wipe the drive using dban
 
Joined
Sep 26, 2017
Messages
2,248
Reaction score
431
Hi Grizzly,

have you tried GParted (Linux based OS running Gnome partition editor):


You can run it in Live Mode (I think it is Ubuntu or Debian based?). :)
Yes, the GPARTED download is an .iso file used to create the Bootable LiveCD and is based on a limited version of Linux. The disc created from that .iso file is an exact duplicate of the original disc or the files created for it. It works outside Windows and good for cleaning a drive back to its as-shipped condition. GPARTED also is included on many Linux Distros LiveDVD .iso and installations.
 

Trouble

Noob Whisperer
Moderator
Joined
Nov 19, 2013
Messages
13,079
Reaction score
2,225
DiskPart is a native utility built right into Windows. I use it whenever I want to wipe (clean) a drive.

From the admin command prompt, type diskpart and press Enter.
1591884941202.png


The diskpart prompt will open.
1591884972774.png


From the diskpart prompt, type list disk and press Enter.
1591884993636.png

A list of disks will appear in a text format. You will return to the diskpart prompt. Step one verified that Disk 1 is the 3TB drive. Warning: Diskpart Erase/Clean will permanently erase/destroy all data on the selected drive. Please be certain that you are erasing the correct disk.
1591885035289.png


From the diskpart prompt you will need to select a disk disk number (for instance, if the 3TB+ drive is Disk 1, you would type select disk 1) and press Enter. Warning: Diskpart Erase/Clean will permanently erase/destroy all data on the selected drive. Please be certain that you are erasing the correct disk.
1591885211006.png

A message appears saying that the disk is selected. You will return to the diskpart prompt. Warning: Diskpart Erase/Clean will permanently erase/destroy all data on the selected drive. Please be certain that you are erasing the correct disk.
1591885230995.png

From the diskpart prompt, type clean and press Enter. The drive's partition, data, and signature is now removed. You will return to the diskpart prompt. Warning: Once you type clean and hit enter the drive will be erased. No warning will be provided.
1591885253996.png


The Command Prompt window will display the message "DiskPart succeeded in cleaning the disk". Close out of the Command Prompt window by clicking the red X in the upper right hand corner.
1591885274802.png
 

Attachments

Joined
Oct 26, 2016
Messages
1,912
Reaction score
561
Thanks for the Info so far. I am gonna let DBAN finish first (which, at this point, takes another 40 hours). Then I will see how the drive behaves when I put it back online...

BTW: I have downloaded the iso's for gparted already...
 
Ad

Advertisements

Joined
Oct 26, 2016
Messages
1,912
Reaction score
561
After three days of wiping the drive, it took only 2 minutes with gparted to create a full 4TB drive with a GPT partition. I am currently backing up all my ISO's to this new drive (1.7TB in all) which takes another day or so.
 

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments. After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.

Ask a Question

Top