Network Connections has totally disappeared


Joined
Sep 29, 2019
Messages
8
Reaction score
0
Starting at the first reboot after my last Windows update, I lost the ability to connect to any and all network connections on my PC. I can boot into Windows like normal, and everything except the network and internet works. Every option on my WinX menu works except Network Connections.

When I click on Network Connections from the WinX menu, I get the following error message:
Settings: SystemSettings.exe – system error
“The system detected an overrun of a stack-based buffer in this application. This overrun could potentially allow a malicious user to gain control of this application.”

First, I don't know which application the error message is referring to, and second, I don't know what to do next. Any suggestions or experience with this error would be greatly appreciated! Thank you!
 
Ad

Advertisements

Joined
Feb 22, 2014
Messages
1,436
Reaction score
288
If your system is like mine. You will need to install updated network drivers.

Do you know which networking adapter you are using? Is it Realtek or something else?
 
Joined
Sep 29, 2019
Messages
8
Reaction score
0
It is Realtek. Do I need to reinstall that? I know how to delete drivers through device manager, but how do I know exactly which drivers to delete/reinstall/update? Thanks for responding to mu question!
 
Joined
Nov 19, 2013
Messages
4,939
Reaction score
969
Are you using a third party anti virus program.
Also, a very easy first step, which has been known to be succesful, is to run the built in troubleshooter. .
Settings - Network and internet - and Network Troublesshooter
 
Ad

Advertisements

Joined
Sep 29, 2019
Messages
8
Reaction score
0
Are you using a third party anti virus program.
Also, a very easy first step, which has been known to be succesful, is to run the built in troubleshooter. .
Settings - Network and internet - and Network Troublesshooter
[/QUOTE

I can't run that troubleshooter because I have no access to the Network and Internet setting. That is when I get the stack overflow error message.
 
Joined
Nov 19, 2013
Messages
4,939
Reaction score
969
.
? I don’ get that one!
youshould be able to open the settings. Just to try, I disabled my internet connection, but was still able to get into the settings, including the internet section. But why the Winx route
 

Trouble

Noob Whisperer
Moderator
Joined
Nov 19, 2013
Messages
12,708
Reaction score
2,090
Right click the start button, from the context menu choose "Run"
In the Run dialog box type cmd
Hold the control and shift key and strike the enter key
Answer in the affirmative when you receive the UAC prompt.

In the administrative command prompt window type
netsh int ip reset resetlog.txt
hit enter
then type
netsh Winsock reset
hit enter
then type
exit
hit enter
Restart your computer
See if that works for you.
 
Joined
Sep 29, 2019
Messages
8
Reaction score
0
Right click the start button, from the context menu choose "Run"
In the Run dialog box type cmd
Hold the control and shift key and strike the enter key
Answer in the affirmative when you receive the UAC prompt.

In the administrative command prompt window type
netsh int ip reset resetlog.txt
hit enter
then type
netsh Winsock reset
hit enter
then type
exit
hit enter
Restart your computer
See if that works for you.
Thank you! Unfortunately, I continue to get the same buffer overrun message.
 
Joined
Sep 29, 2019
Messages
8
Reaction score
0
Thank you! Unfortunately, I continue to get the same buffer overrun message.
 
Ad

Advertisements

Trouble

Noob Whisperer
Moderator
Joined
Nov 19, 2013
Messages
12,708
Reaction score
2,090
Right click the Start Button and choose Device Manager from the context menu.
Expand network adapters and right click your specific adapter and choose properties.
Select the details tab and then use the drop down to change to hardware ids
Right click the top item in the list and choose copy
Paste it into your next post.

Capture4.PNG
 
Joined
Sep 29, 2019
Messages
8
Reaction score
0
Right click the Start Button and choose Device Manager from the context menu.
Expand network adapters and right click your specific adapter and choose properties.
Select the details tab and then use the drop down to change to hardware ids
Right click the top item in the list and choose copy
Paste it into your next post.

View attachment 10585
There are three listings under network adapters, so here are their hardware id's in order:

Bluetooth Device (Personal Area Network)
BTH\MS_BTHPAN

Realtek 8821AE Wireless LAN 802.11ac PCI-E NIC
PCI\VEN_10EC&DEV_8821&SUBSYS_A80317AA&REV_00

Realtek PCIe GbE Family Controller #2
PCI\VEN_10EC&DEV_8168&SUBSYS_369017AA&REV_OC

Thank you!
 

Trouble

Noob Whisperer
Moderator
Joined
Nov 19, 2013
Messages
12,708
Reaction score
2,090
Are you depending on a physical ethernet connection via a Cat5 cable from your router to your computer
OR
Are you using a wireless connection?
 

Trouble

Noob Whisperer
Moderator
Joined
Nov 19, 2013
Messages
12,708
Reaction score
2,090
Ad

Advertisements

Joined
Jan 27, 2016
Messages
539
Reaction score
37
I always instruct my Clients/friends keep the Original DVD-CD-USB files on hand due to such issues.
insert the DVD-CD-USB and reinstall the Original OEM Drivers.
 
Joined
Feb 22, 2014
Messages
1,436
Reaction score
288
I always instruct my Clients/friends keep the Original DVD-CD-USB files on hand due to such issues.
insert the DVD-CD-USB and reinstall the Original OEM Drivers.
Sadly MS updates are breaking those old original drivers.
 
Ad

Advertisements

Joined
Jan 27, 2016
Messages
539
Reaction score
37
yes, but then Dell, HP, Acer also updates and breaks the old drivers.
 
Ad

Advertisements


Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments. After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.

Ask a Question

Top