Networking 2 computers

Reaction score
I have a windows 10 and a windows 7 computer at home. Networking them together has failed miserably and I can find no help in the help file or on the web.
Can someone advise me the simplest way to share a folder between the two computers please? It really should be easy to do.

Reaction score
where to start - there are just so many things . but you're right in your general concern that in 2016 ... networking OUGHT NOT to be an issue (like printing, sound, and just about every other basic thing a computer needs to be and microsoft continually screws up) ... I AM NO EXPERT .. but I have 7 computers now at home (they keep having babies) .. and GENERALLY speaking have them connected .. so some random thoughts ..

1) You should be on the same workgroup
2) you shoud or could be on the same Homegroup
3) File sharing has to be set properly

All my computers are on win10 but I did have various versions at one time or another and still most of the time networked okay ..

when I get a new computer .. I join it to my workgroup (and homegroup but there might be some redundancy there)
and share the appropriate folders and mostly dont have any issues .. its that simple

then there are programs to keep them in sync (like BitTorrent) on the network and (sync.com) to keep them backup on the cloud (I hate that gimmicky word) .. but these things have there own issues and go beyond what you have asked about .

Its just every situation is different . hard to say what your issue is (and I havent talked about your router situation).

1) Create a (home) network.
2) make sure your computers are on the network
3) share the folders with appropraite permissions

(its possible that logging in with the same account on various computers may help reduce issues .. but I dont do that on all my machines and it isnt (and should not be) an issue)