No Sound

Joined
Jun 26, 2023
Messages
11
Reaction score
0
Hey. First time posting. Having a lot of issues with Windows 10 so you may be seeing me here quite a bit haha.

Ok/ so basically there's no sound from onboard audio.

All routing seems right, all volumes are up but nothing. It was working ages ago but don't use it that much until now when I need it.

ive followed all types of the usual steps that microsoft and youtbe have said but I'm at my wits end. If anyone has ANY advice please let me know.
 
Joined
Nov 6, 2017
Messages
354
Reaction score
55
Press the Windows and "R" keys simultaneously, type or paste "msdt /id AudioPlaybackDiagnostic" into the "Open" box and click "OK".

Ben
 
Joined
Jun 26, 2023
Messages
11
Reaction score
0
Press the Windows and "R" keys simultaneously, type or paste "msdt /id AudioPlaybackDiagnostic" into the "Open" box and click "OK".

Ben
Damn. That didn't seem to work
 

Attachments

  • 20230627_073128.jpg
    20230627_073128.jpg
    111.4 KB · Views: 5
  • 20230627_073401.jpg
    20230627_073401.jpg
    103.6 KB · Views: 6
  • 20230627_073450.jpg
    20230627_073450.jpg
    70.5 KB · Views: 4
  • 20230627_073507.jpg
    20230627_073507.jpg
    150.7 KB · Views: 5
Joined
Jun 26, 2023
Messages
11
Reaction score
0
OK. I'll try that cheers. Uts really doing my head in.
OK tried it again and got this. Been through this before and the enhancements are turned off, have been for ages.
 

Attachments

  • 20230627_074328.jpg
    20230627_074328.jpg
    106.8 KB · Views: 4
  • 20230627_074351.jpg
    20230627_074351.jpg
    130 KB · Views: 3
  • 20230627_074708.jpg
    20230627_074708.jpg
    466.7 KB · Views: 3
Joined
Sep 26, 2017
Messages
3,529
Reaction score
618
Only time I've had the sound fail showed "No device found" [or words to that effect] on the icon in the Notification Area, Taskbar Settings on a Notebook with Win10 upgraded to Win11. Booted a Linux Mint LiveUSB and still no sound. Turned out to be the onboard adapter failed, got a new motherboard under warranty, no issue since.
 
Joined
Jun 26, 2023
Messages
11
Reaction score
0
Everything seems to be working as in connections etc, even got traltek audio manager working now, but can't play test tones in control panel and still no wound metering or playing.
 
Joined
Jun 26, 2023
Messages
11
Reaction score
0
Anyone have any other suggestions?

I downloaded the latest tealtek drivers and nothing.

In volum mixer there are no apps listed next to the main volume slider
 
Joined
Nov 6, 2017
Messages
354
Reaction score
55
You might try restoring an older audio driver. Find the audio device in Device Manager, right-click it, select "Update Driver", then click "Browse my computer for drivers", then "Let me pick from a list of available drivers on my computer". If more than one driver is listed, pick one that isn't highlighted and click "Next". You may have to restart the computer for the change to take effect.

Ben
 
Joined
Jun 26, 2023
Messages
11
Reaction score
0
You might try restoring an older audio driver. Find the audio device in Device Manager, right-click it, select "Update Driver", then click "Browse my computer for drivers", then "Let me pick from a list of available drivers on my computer". If more than one driver is listed, pick one that isn't highlighted and click "Next". You may have to restart the computer for the change to take effect.

Ben
Completely get ya man, problem is is I've done all that too. This is ridiculous.

It's onboard audio and it shouldn't be this hard

I miss windows XP HAHAHAHA
 
Joined
Jun 26, 2023
Messages
11
Reaction score
0
You might try restoring an older audio driver. Find the audio device in Device Manager, right-click it, select "Update Driver", then click "Browse my computer for drivers", then "Let me pick from a list of available drivers on my computer". If more than one driver is listed, pick one that isn't highlighted and click "Next". You may have to restart the computer for the change to take effect.

Ben
Completely get ya man, problem is is I've done all that too. This is ridiculous.

It's onboard audio and it shouldn't be this hard

I miss windows XP HAHAHAHA
 
Joined
Sep 26, 2017
Messages
3,529
Reaction score
618
The only things that come to me is the type of keyboard involved, Notebook or a multi-media keyboard on a Desktop which have volume control keys which can mute the speakers. The Notification Area has a speaker icon that should show whether muted or not and on some computers whether speakers are even plugged in.
 
Joined
Jun 26, 2023
Messages
11
Reaction score
0
Hey.

Desktop/ crappy cheap logitech jobby.

Dunno if any of these shots help.
 

Attachments

  • 20230628_230457.jpg
    20230628_230457.jpg
    572.5 KB · Views: 7
  • 20230628_230746.jpg
    20230628_230746.jpg
    349.2 KB · Views: 6
  • 20230628_230759.jpg
    20230628_230759.jpg
    504.2 KB · Views: 5
  • 20230628_230839.jpg
    20230628_230839.jpg
    382.5 KB · Views: 4
  • 20230628_230950.jpg
    20230628_230950.jpg
    599.6 KB · Views: 4
  • 20230628_231444.jpg
    20230628_231444.jpg
    697.3 KB · Views: 6
  • 20230628_232231.jpg
    20230628_232231.jpg
    916.4 KB · Views: 8
Joined
Sep 26, 2017
Messages
3,529
Reaction score
618
Since the last image shows No speakers plugged in, my diagnostic process would be to disconnect any/all other audio/sound devices and try the default of having speakers plugged to check if sound works. If it does then the issue would lie with one of the other devices. I keep a couple multi-media keyboards on hand from Dell and Microsoft with the sound control keys for against the need for quick replacement.
 
Joined
Sep 26, 2017
Messages
3,529
Reaction score
618
Sorry about that, having come from building computers back in '94 in a shop [a week after retiring] I just find that diagnosing problems works by getting to the basics to make sure something works then add in devices or features as desired or needed.
 
Joined
Jun 26, 2023
Messages
11
Reaction score
0
Nothing I'm doing informing. This is beyond frustrating at this point.

ANT other help will be very much appreciated.
 

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments. After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.

Ask a Question

Top