Official new version

Reaction score
When the official new version of W-10 is released tomorrow will we who have been using the technical preview have to:
1. reload?
2. change the key?
3. pay anything?

Trouble

Noob Whisperer
Reaction score
will we who have been using the technical preview have to:
1. reload?
2. change the key?
3. pay anything?
Nope.... nothing.
You should be good to go as long as you're running 10240 and it's activated, I don't think there are any other requirements or hoops to jump through.
Of course, we'll all know considerably more tomorrow.

Trouble

Noob Whisperer
Reaction score
That is a / the ISO
You just have to pick "create media" and then you have two option one of which is for the ISO

Reaction score
That is a / the ISO
You just have to pick "create media" and then you have two option one of which is for the ISO
Hi, I'm a bit of a noob when it comes to this stuff. I have reserved my free upgrade (and it has been July 29th over here for a good while now) but still no notification message to install and I'm pretty sure it has already downloaded. Should I just wait or will downloading that ISO, making a bootable USB and clean installing from that still be a legit upgrade? (as in will it ask me for a product key or something)

Trouble

Noob Whisperer
Reaction score
will downloading that ISO, making a bootable USB and clean installing from that still be a legit upgrade?
Nope.... no clean installs until after the upgrade. I know... seems counter-intuitive, but that's how it's been explained to me.
You could probably use the ISO, make the installation media on a USB thumb drive or DVD and then perform the upgrade from within your current OS from that.
Personally, I'm waiting till tomorrow mid- day before I make any decisions on how I'll move forward.

Reaction score
Nope.... no clean installs until after the upgrade. I know... seems counter-intuitive, but that's how it's been explained to me.