SOLVED Removing memory sticks.


Joined
Nov 21, 2018
Messages
89
Reaction score
7
? please. If I just remove and replace (exact same) memory sticks will everything still work without having to reset Bias ? Not sure I am qualified to do that. I am getting occasional no boot with 3 long 2 short beeps. If I hold power button then release after a bit, it will boot ok....Thanks in advance for any and all suggestions...Jim
 
Ad

Advertisements

Joined
Sep 26, 2017
Messages
2,767
Reaction score
542
Simply removing memory modules after the power has been disconnected and On|Off button pushed to drain residual power is a thing to reseat the modules to wipe the contacts, shouldn't need anything more. IF there are beeps or messages about the memory then further testing is necessary which should include checking the BIOS for proper recognization of the RAM modules.
 
Joined
Nov 21, 2018
Messages
89
Reaction score
7
Thank you Bighorn. This hp pavilion has had that glitch since new. I will try this first and hope it fixes it...Thanks again...Jim
 
Joined
Oct 26, 2016
Messages
2,227
Reaction score
662
Are you talking about replacing the RAM memory ?? Before you do that, you might want to give it a test run. Here is a little tool that worked for years I have been using it:

www.memtest86.com
 
Joined
Nov 21, 2018
Messages
89
Reaction score
7
No, not replacing memory at this point. Just read where reseating it might cure the problem. If it doesn`t, then I will maybe try replacing. Thanks for the test tool, I will sure keep it for further testing if needed...Thanks,,,Much appreciated...Jim
 
Joined
Oct 26, 2016
Messages
2,227
Reaction score
662
reseating the RAM is always an option, if your error codes point to that. I have looked through the error codes of AMI, AWARD, Phoenix and IBM BIOS and could not find this beep code. However my list is over ten years old and might not have the codes of a newer BIOS.

I found a newer Information on the web:


but was not able to verify yours
3 long 2 short beeps

Since I have to assume you wont see anything o the screen, it definitely is a Hardware issue that causes the error according to the POST (power on self test).
 
Ad

Advertisements

Joined
Nov 21, 2018
Messages
89
Reaction score
7
So far so good. I removed modules and cleaned everything with air. Wiped modules off and reinstalled. have rebooted several times with no issues. Maybe all is well. A person would think a new pc would not have such problems . Thanks for all the info and advice...Much appreciated...Jim
 

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments. After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.

Ask a Question

Top