Removing linux distro completely and substituting Win 10


Joined
Jun 8, 2020
Messages
10
Reaction score
2
Hi,
I've bought a secondhand Dell Optiplex that has a Linux distro installed in it as the one and only OS. It works well but I just don't like it. And i want to use Windows.

So, what do I do? Should i somehow wipe off the whole disc first and then feed in Windows? I haven't bought Windows yet as I want to be sure I'm getting the right variety and advice on that would be appreciated too.

Cheers
 
Ad

Advertisements

Joined
Apr 22, 2017
Messages
4,009
Reaction score
512
Hi nosebleed,

when you start the installer and you get to this window, choose "Custom" (Install Windows only) and wipe all the partitions (highlight each partition and click on "remove" until you have nothing but free space), then just click on "New" and it will auto assign new partitions for you!.. :)

1591686544066.png
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jun 8, 2020
Messages
10
Reaction score
2
Thanks Wolfie. I'll send off for W 10 today and will let you know how I get on.
 
Joined
Nov 19, 2013
Messages
5,290
Reaction score
1,075
Who! Have you read up on the different editions? Three really for home use. Home: Pro : Enterprise.
I would suggest Pro, as it gives you a little more flexibility in what you can and cannot do.
Have a read here:

 
Joined
Jun 8, 2020
Messages
10
Reaction score
2
My word davehc, there's a lot to read. I'll settle down to it after lunch. C heers
 

bassfisher6522

Moderator
Joined
Sep 22, 2014
Messages
1,667
Reaction score
309
Another thing to check; You'll need to make sure that your Dell will run windows 10. You'll have to go to Dell support page and input your service tag number. That will tell you all the information on the PC....hardware makeup and what OS it came with and will upgrade to and it will show you what drivers you'll need.
 
Ad

Advertisements

Joined
Sep 26, 2017
Messages
2,072
Reaction score
377
Go for either Pro or Home. The Enterprise edition usually requires logging into a specific Server for activation [been there and failed] and maybe the Education edition. The Enterprise may also be known as Volume Licensing.

For the Linux thing, do a fully clean install removing the partitions and starting over. I have Linux Mint on a Dell Inspiron 580 Desktop, works good but the drive formatting may not be conducive to installing Windows which is why deleting every thing is necessary.
 
Joined
Jun 8, 2020
Messages
10
Reaction score
2
Things are not looking up. I went to the Dell support uk site and entered the service tag number. Plenty of info there and lists of drivers etc. Trouble is I can't select anything that tells me I will be able to to run Windows 10 on my system. Dell sometimes wouldn't let me select something or other which obviously means linux. It did tell me,, for instance that I won't be able to downgrade to Windows 6/7/8 if I have an old intel chip and I can't run 'diagnostics' because that only handles Windows 7/8/10.

Mind you there is nothing on the Dell site to say that my system certainly won't run Windows 10. So I've been thinking. I don't want to spend £100 or more if Win Pro ain't going to work. However, I notice that Ebay has people selling W10 quite cheaply and if this is legal I'd risk a lesser amount.

So if someone would comment on this idea I'd be grateful.

Thanks, nosebleed
 
Joined
Jun 8, 2020
Messages
10
Reaction score
2
Things are not looking up. I went to the Dell support uk site and entered the service tag number. Plenty of info there and lists of drivers etc. Trouble is I can't select anything that tells me I will be able to to run Windows 10 on my system. Dell sometimes wouldn't let me select something or other which obviously means linux. It did tell me,, for instance that I won't be able to downgrade to Windows 6/7/8 if I have an old intel chip and I can't run 'diagnostics' because that only handles Windows 7/8/10.

Mind you there is nothing on the Dell site to say that my system certainly won't run Windows 10. So I've been thinking. I don't want to spend £100 or more if Win Pro ain't going to work. However, I notice that Ebay has people selling W10 quite cheaply and if this is legal I'd risk a lesser amount.

So if someone would comment on this idea I'd be grateful.

Thanks, nosebleed
 
Joined
Sep 26, 2017
Messages
2,072
Reaction score
377
It did tell me,, for instance that I won't be able to downgrade to Windows 6/7/8 if I have an old intel chip and I can't run 'diagnostics' because that only handles Windows 7/8/10.
That does sound backwards [but haven't had coffee yet], usually can't Upgrade to a newer version on some older CPUs. And unlike Upgrading to a newer version there is no "path" to Downgrade to an older version, requires a clean install. Most likely the comment intended to convey the information that there are no longer drivers maintained that are needed to support the older CPUs.
 
Ad

Advertisements

Joined
Jun 8, 2020
Messages
10
Reaction score
2
Well, davehc, I couldn't get anywhere with your Danish site. Probably my lack of foreign lingos is a drawback. Thanks for pointing out that I could buy a fraudulent W10 off ebay.

I'm going to take a few hours pondering all this. Enjoy your coffee BigHorn.
 
Joined
Nov 19, 2013
Messages
5,290
Reaction score
1,075
Well, davehc, I couldn't get anywhere with your Danish site. Probably my lack of foreign lingos is a drawback. Thanks for pointing out that I could buy a fraudulent W10 off ebay.

I'm going to take a few hours pondering all this. Enjoy your coffee BigHorn.
The only thing you needed to look at was the comparison table, but there are many similar sites in English. Completely overlooked the language - sorry
 
Joined
Apr 22, 2017
Messages
4,009
Reaction score
512
Dell Optiplex
Hi nosebleed,

which Optiplex model is it?.

You can buy a cheapo licence key for Win 10 from eBay, be aware that they are bulk (mostly) licences and MS can/might pull the plug on them at any time!. This is not to say they will. :)
 
Joined
Nov 19, 2013
Messages
5,290
Reaction score
1,075
I did mention precautions if buying from sites like Ebay. But, another thought occurs to me.
Is it possible to download a copy of Windows 10 using the media creation tool, and run it initially non activated? That would help the op to see if his computer is OK with it.
 
Ad

Advertisements

Joined
Jun 8, 2020
Messages
10
Reaction score
2
Wolfie, I've a n Optiplex 7010.

Dave, where would I get the media creation tool?

Cheers
 
Joined
Apr 22, 2017
Messages
4,009
Reaction score
512
Just to point out that Dave's link is for an English GB copy, if you want a different language, scroll down to the bottom of the page and select the language you want!. ;)
 
Ad

Advertisements

Joined
Nov 19, 2013
Messages
5,290
Reaction score
1,075
Just to point out that Dave's link is for an English GB copy, if you want a different language, scroll down to the bottom of the page and select the language you want!. ;)
LOL After my last faux pas, I went to lengths to make sure he got the English download!!:D;)
 

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments. After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.

Ask a Question

Top