Removing AVAST (Can't) ?


Joined
Dec 4, 2017
Messages
63
Reaction score
2
Hello,

Trying to totally remove all of my AVAST free software as I "think" it is
preventing correct installs of some new programs.

Won't let me do it, as a msg comes up saying Administrator Required.

How do I do it, please ?

Thanks,
Bob
 
Ad

Advertisements

Joined
Sep 26, 2017
Messages
2,322
Reaction score
454
Are you logging onto the computer as a User with Administrative Rights or as a Standard User? Windows needs at least 1 User with Admin. Rights which allows making changes while a Standard user can't do as much.
 
Joined
Dec 4, 2017
Messages
63
Reaction score
2
Hi,

Thanks for help; appreciate it.
Not too sharp with this "stuff".

Where do i go (W10) to check or change my User to be sure it's set to having Admin Rights, etc. ?

Thanks again,
Bob
 
Joined
Sep 26, 2017
Messages
2,322
Reaction score
454
Click the Start button, on the left click the "gear" icon for Settings then look in Accounts.
 
Ad

Advertisements

Trouble

Noob Whisperer
Moderator
Joined
Nov 19, 2013
Messages
13,126
Reaction score
2,235
Make note that the removal tool is intended to be ran in Safe Mode.
 
Joined
Mar 9, 2016
Messages
87
Reaction score
6
Hello,

Trying to totally remove all of my AVAST free software as I "think" it is
preventing correct installs of some new programs.

Won't let me do it, as a msg comes up saying Administrator Required.

How do I do it, please ?

Thanks,
Bob

Download the cleaner from https://www.avast.com/en-gb/uninstall-utility and save the installer in your c drive

And run the same from safe mode.

How to boot to safe mode.
  1. Press the Windows logo key + R.
  2. Type msconfig in the Open box and then select OK.
  3. Select the Boot tab.
  4. Under Boot options, clear the Safe boot checkbox.
 
Joined
Jan 27, 2016
Messages
793
Reaction score
78
also some programs need to be removed
1. ctrl+alt+del locate the program (Processes) and END TASK. many programs have more than 1 process.
2. control panel - programs and features is ran by Admin (default) which can uninstall.
 
Joined
Sep 26, 2017
Messages
2,322
Reaction score
454
also some programs need to be removed
I'd make that read also some programs need to be removed from Memory/RAM, that's a feature of the Ctrl+Alt+Del and End Task, makes sure the program is completely closed.
 
Ad

Advertisements

Joined
Jun 2, 2015
Messages
64
Reaction score
13
Greetings all ~

Just an FYI ..( having used avast for many years .. and used their removal tool .. many times ) You DON'T have to use it in Safe Mode .. the removal tool ( in my experience ) removes 99% of the traces of avast ..

If you want to be sure use CCleaner to remove the "extraneous " stuff .. but its really NOT necessary to do so ...


Good Luck.
~LoneWolf
 
Ad

Advertisements

Joined
Mar 9, 2016
Messages
87
Reaction score
6
Due to some of my past exprience i always preffered the safemode , but i am glad we have other options.
 

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments. After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.

Ask a Question

Top