Should I update my BIOS to try to fix a non working audio jack?

Reaction score
Hello guys, new here.

Some time ago my laptop stopped recognizing that a earphone jack is plugged in and plays all sounds through the speakers instead.

After searching endlessly on the internet, I found of just one guy who made a bios update and got the audio jack working again. Ironically, if you search for something like "bios update audio jack", there's a lot more people reporting the audio jack not working anymore after the update. But I'm already in that situation, so, I guess I shouldn't worry about that. The only thing I'm concerned about is that I've never done a bios update before, I'd have to learn what to do. I don't think it's something I can't do, I've done things like that in the past, I just don't want to run any unnecessary risk.

Do you guys think a bios update might make the audio jack work again?

More details on the issue:
- Currently on Realtek High Definition Audio driver version 6.0.8899.1, date 18/02/2020. Was on some 2015 driver when this problem started, and before settling with this current driver I'm using, I tried various ones and also tried uninstalling them completely. Still the same.

- Windows 10 v1909 build 18363.836 (was on v1903 when this problem started)

- The earphones are fine, I tried 2 different ones and also tried them on other devices, they work.

- The audio jack port appears to be clear on the inside, when looking down the hole.